1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Radeon VII Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. Chrisc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 1,211

    Location: Up Norf

    How are these cards at the minute? have drivers improved?
     
  2. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,958

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    These cards are sexy, drivers are a lot better but still need some very minor tweaks
     
  3. MeddlE

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 27, 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: Kent, England

    Lower temps than the 970 it replaced whilst giving more than double the performance. Very happy with it so far.
     
  4. Chrisc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 1,211

    Location: Up Norf

    im really tempted by one :rolleyes:
     
  5. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 299

    Location: Cornwall

  6. SydDanube

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 27, 2015

    Posts: 80

  7. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 299

    Location: Cornwall

    They must know I have 2 kids. £325 a bag bargain!
     
  8. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 299

    Location: Cornwall

    Just found this on a Spanish review regarding "factory voltage"

    " The sample that we have, comes with a "factory voltage" (stock voltage) of 1071mv. This factory voltage can vary, from 1030mv ~ to 1130mv ~."

    How accurate that is I'm not sure but sounds about right to that we've been getting accross this cards........

    Source:
    https://www.xanxogaming.com/reviews/amd-radeon-vii-review-en-espanol-gaming/
     
  9. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,405

    Location: Dalek flagship


    Welcome and on TROH.:)


    The Roll of Honour.

    [​IMG]



    Date 09/03/2019, Make AMD Reference, MeddlE, Link
    Date 08/03/2019, Make AMD Reference, SydDanube, Link
    Date 17/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, willb1967, Link
    Date 15/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Nocliptoni, Link
    Date 15/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, jmeistr, Link
    Date 15/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, djbully, Link
    Date 12/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, LtMatt, Link
    Date 11/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Harry Hodgson, Link
    Date 11/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Otellino, Link
    Date 11/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Colzy, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, artur_k, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Dicehunter, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Illuminist, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, vapor matt, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, spook2575, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, L-Digital82, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Uzu, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, drskiba, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, nashathedog, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Chud_Jenny, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Bloot, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Vince, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, zoffster1, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, FordneyMcCumber, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Vish Petrol, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Dave2150, Link



    To get on the Roll of Honour all you have to do is post a pic with your user name on it of your Radeon VII.
     
  10. KrisWragg

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 28, 2013

    Posts: 158

    Location: Worksop

    Pretty sure mine is either 1071mv or 1076mv so about middle of the road if that's true.
     
  11. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 299

    Location: Cornwall

    My card is 1074mv out of the box.
    It would be very interesting to see how much of a difference a 1030mv vs 1130mv card would clock to on water at max frequencies.
    Just check EKWB and no further updates by the looks from the teaser block pics from last week.
     
  12. Zerotre

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 19, 2019

    Posts: 13

    Location: Italy-florence

    Hi to all,

    also alphacool is working on a vii liquid block, they posted today an image on their facebook page
     
  13. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 299

    Location: Cornwall

    Thanks for that, I'd missed that going up.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,958

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Wish they would hurry up and let me buy one don't care which company just let me at em already
     
  15. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 299

    Location: Cornwall

    Me too! My rig is an ornament in the corner currently. Its all ready, I fully stripped and rebuilt my whole machine last week. It's just a matter of the card to block, 2 pipes to cut and fit then fill!
     
  16. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,958

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Got any pics?
     
  17. spook2575

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 23, 2007

    Posts: 1,041

    Ah but real question is if you care for extra performance from rgb
     
  18. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,958

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    That's a difficult question, everyone knows that rgb helps you over clock 150%
     
  19. Dicehunter

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2007

    Posts: 11,115

    Location: On an Island Surrounded by Water

    Mine became unstable and hard locked my PC so I lapped mine and the temps came down 40'c, Not even kidding, Prior to lapping, The cold plate didn't even touch the majority of the die, Whoever AMD contracted to make the heatsink did a horrendous job.

    As you can see from a pressure test that Gamers Nexus did, The majority of the die is left untouched which equals sky high temps and eventual crashing.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. YB2ndBEST

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 25, 2014

    Posts: 621

    Location: Charlotte, NC

    What about junction temp? Can you show the average temp in ab or wattman? That's pretty incredible :D