1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Radeon VII Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,729

    Location: Ireland

    The reviewers have to review it out of the box as is, they can do separate articles for undervolting etc but first day reviews are always about how it performs out of the box.
     
  2. Panos

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 9,814

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    AMD cards didn't require a bridge since Hawaii.

    However Radeon VII doesn't support traditional xfire but support mGPU in DX12, and Vulcan through async compute, assuming the devs have implemented it.
     
  3. ICDP

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 30, 2011

    Posts: 2,326

    Location: Belfast

    This has never been the case, or release day reviews would not contain section on overclocking. The truth is that overclocking has fundamentally changed and will keep doing so. Any review that fails to even attempt undervolting a Radeon VII is a fail IMHO, given what is kown on how they can be undervolted.

    I have seen some people claim Turing can be undervolted, but it's not the same for example. With Turing, undervolting means you are artificially (or manually) throttling your GPU to prevent it reaching the higher voltage states. With Vega you can actually undervolt to reach higher clocks.
     
  4. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,435

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

  5. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,435

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    [​IMG]


    Yay
     
  6. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,435

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    8879 for me on my 2700x I guess we are all good
     
  7. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,472

    Location: Knowhere

    AMD really need to get their house in order better as both Vega releases have been pushed out the door on shaky feet, When I bought the Vega 64 AIO the only thing in the box was a generic how to install your graphics card that was from a regular aircooled card not an AIO.
     
  8. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,472

    Location: Knowhere

    The 7 feels like there's a lot of work needed still on AMD's side of it,
    My memory won't do anything at the moment, At stock it runs at 1000mhz but if I try to put any sort of overclock on it I get a locked 800mhz.
    Overclocking the cores no different, if I start tweaking the performance drops,
    The only way to get it going up is by only touching the power limit & then the improvement is miniscule.
    Undervoltings the same, If I undervolt performance drops even if I up the clocks.
    At the moment it's the polar opposite of the 14nm Vega's.
    They have a lot of tweaking room while the 7 has none.
     
  9. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 12,072

    Location: PA, USA

    I find it extremely odd that some cards/drivers can overclock fine, but others cannot. Glitch in the matrix of system variables perhaps.
     
  10. Ollie83

    Gangster

    Joined: May 17, 2009

    Posts: 477

    Location: Kirkwall, Orkney

  11. Dicehunter

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2007

    Posts: 10,689

    Location: Ye Olde England

    I tried to resist but the AMD fanboy in me had to get one XD

    [​IMG]
     
  12. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,472

    Location: Knowhere

    It is, It lets me do the overclocking it just just doesn't do anything, Last night I put the core clock to 1875 I think it was and it did 3dmark benches with out an issue other than the actual result going down slightly.

    These are all results of runs with different clocks, the highest was when I only touched the power limit, I forget which were which out of the other due to clocks not working but you can see what's happening.

    https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/1.../18240720/fs/18227926/fs/18227852/fs/18227763

    The 11,902 is stock & the 12040 is with just the power limit up.


    My tweaked V64 isn't far behind.

    https://www.3dmark.com/fs/16907464
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
  13. vapor matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2003

    Posts: 1,864

    Location: west sussex

    This is really weird, in that I don't know anything about AMD cards or wattman until today what I have briefly read, but I can undervolt to 930mv and it sits quite happy at 1800mhz underload, temps are good, fans don't go crazy high.
    I am using the last release drivers from AMD think they were on the 6th which by all accounts are better than the pre release drivers. below 920mv I start to get glitches. all ive changed in watt man is the core voltage, I left everything else
    alone until I understand it better.
     
  14. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,729

    Location: Ireland

    Yup, coulda went to someone who actually wanted the card instead of someone out to make a few quid at a stupid price.
     
  15. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,435

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Mine is exactly like yours, in time spy I can lower mv to 980 no lower, any hbm increase causes 800 lock any core increase make the core fluctuate or just run slower
     
  16. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,435

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Yours is a better chip than some I think
    What do you test it with? Have you tried time spy?
     
  17. sparkymark75

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 8, 2003

    Posts: 2,399

    Location: Scotland

    Why would you pay 50% on top of the MSRP rather than wait a couple of weeks?! Some folk have more money than sense.
     
  18. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,729

    Location: Ireland


    I can't see it selling considering it can be bought for £200 cheaper. Any new GPU later nch these days seems filled with these hair brained cash grab schemes.
     
  19. vapor matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2003

    Posts: 1,864

    Location: west sussex

    I looped heaven for an hour and also played some COD and briefly tried a few games tomb raider ect. ive had no issues and seems its no where near as noisy as some have said in reviews.

    I did see one review where the reason they use the Hitachi thermal interface was because it offers some compression as there can be a slight height difference between HBM and core, and some contact tests proved this.

    Not sure if this will give some cards more heat if HBM higher than core but I would think so.

    I guess I might have been lucky with this one, but theres always one better some where.
     
  20. Bloot

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 9, 2018

    Posts: 83

    Location: Barcelona

    Same experience here, there's a lot of work to be done on this cards yet... Anyway stock performance is pretty good and now voltages are not as insane as they were on the original Vega.