1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. Ree

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 22, 2016

    Posts: 1,953

    a shot in the dark but does anyone own this monitor? if so whats the verdict on it as am seriously considering getting it.

    Dell S2719DGF
     
  2. TheSwede

    Mobster

    Joined: May 27, 2007

    Posts: 2,604

    Location: Front of the PC

    Thanks, appreciating your reply. :)
     
  3. KentMan

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2016

    Posts: 387

    Got my card running P6 1542/1000mv P7 1652/1100mv HBM 1055/1000mv and it seems stable, run Timespy multiple times with no crashes, but in POE it will crash to desktop, so i have set a seperate profile for that now to reduce the P6 and P7 by 10 each and reduce the HBM by 15, and set FRTC to 90fps, that seems to have helped.
     
  4. YB2ndBEST

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 25, 2014

    Posts: 621

    Location: Charlotte, NC

    Can't run 1652 @ 1100mv... Are the temps getting too high?
     
  5. pieman109

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 7,057

    Location: Ealing

    Ok, just pulled the trigger on a sapphire Nitro Vega 64 as the price has come down again to £430 from £479. Now, the first I want to do is undervolt but I've not got a clue how to use wattman and I have no idea about these various "P" states I've seen, do these represent various frequencies and voltages are adjusted up or down for these frequencies? Basically I'm not someone who wants to spend time fiddling with voltages, so a simple piece of software that'll do the job, reduce heat, avoid throttling, would be fine.
     
  6. henson0115

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 6, 2013

    Posts: 1,086

    Location: Nottingham

    Wait until the big driver update in that case as it will auto under volt according to sources on the interweb, should be a long any day now I would imagine.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2018
  7. ALXAndy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2010

    Posts: 10,186

    Location: West Sussex

    Hey guys, I bought a Red Devil Vega 64 that should arrive tomorrow. Can any one briefly run me through how to down-volt it? like a screenshot of the settings etc?

    Also, should I use AMD drivers or MSI AB or something?

    TIA !

    Edit. I was going to start a thread "Vega advice" but realised pretty quickly most of the replies would be "Send it back" :D

    I'm coming from a Fury X that continually finds itself short of VRAM, so it's quite a hike.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2018
  8. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 11,833

    Location: Northern Ireland

    how is it the whole world seems to be out of stock of the thermal grizzly Minus Pad 8 - 20x 120x 3.0mm......been looking since I got my asus strix vega a couple of weeks back. any other alternatives I should look for?
     
  9. YB2ndBEST

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 25, 2014

    Posts: 621

    Location: Charlotte, NC


    I just recently got my vega 64 after using the vram limited Fury X as well! You will not be disappointed!!!
     
  10. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 13,200

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Use Wattman, MSI AB isn't needed.
    I have posted on previous pages settings however today (13/12) new drivers are coming out with a lot of changes.
     
  11. TrixX

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 4, 2017

    Posts: 590

    Location: Australia - Sunshine Coast

    If you find Wattman annoying, OverdriveNTool is a good replacement, same functions without the silly UI :D
     
  12. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 13,200

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    People will get lost with it :D too many numbers...... :D
     
  13. TrixX

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 4, 2017

    Posts: 590

    Location: Australia - Sunshine Coast

    I guess I'm old school :D

    Probably why I prefer some of the pre-UEFI BIOS which responded instantly without a half second delay!
     
  14. Clav

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 10, 2011

    Posts: 2,315

    Location: N.Ireland

    This happened to me. You might need to get into the old school display settings and set your monitor refresh rate there.
    Assuming W10, Right click desktop > Display settings > Display adapter properties > Monitor tab > Set monitor refresh rate.
     
  15. ALXAndy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2010

    Posts: 10,186

    Location: West Sussex

    Thanks (and thanks for other replies guys). I've got a Titan XP in my main driver but yeah, Fury X in rig at my mother's where I stay a lot in winter (my flat is like a sieve and freezing). Yeah 4gb is holding me back, because I drive the screen I have there (Apple cinema 20") at 1600p. So games like FC5 can spike and send me into the low 20s. Not often, mind, and it does do a very valiant job, but yeah time to upgrade. I've had that Fury X since launch.

    Oh yeah one more Q. Does the Red Devil have the pad issue? and should I re-paste it? it's not new I bought it used here.
     
  16. Steampunk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 1, 2013

    Posts: 7,753

    No, it's one of the best coolers between that and the Sapphire.
     
  17. ALXAndy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2010

    Posts: 10,186

    Location: West Sussex

    Sweet,cheers man. I love the cooler. Absolutely beautiful I fell in love with it when they released the Devil 13.
     
  18. pieman109

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 7,057

    Location: Ealing

    Any info available as to when the new amd drivers are being released for download?
     
  19. Shiari

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 11, 2013

    Posts: 795

    Location: Nottingham

    My monitor is already set to 75Hz, no issues there. This 38 fps thing is something recent.
     
  20. TheMadHatter

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 30, 2014

    Posts: 598

    Location: S-O-T

    any help as my sapphire vega is doing my head in great card everyone says yeah right

    cant even get a game to play correctly even walking on tomb raider causing stutter