1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. lordhawkwind

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 9, 2016

    Posts: 38

    ;);););););););););););););););)
     
  2. Vanilla

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 8,804

    By chance my 140mm case fan is losing life. Making noise and not spinning well.

    The Vega 64 has fan control right? Is there an optimum, quiet, 140mm fan for it to control?

    Edit: ignore. Big question. Just got a 4pin Bequiet jobby.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2019
  3. anthony99

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 15, 2016

    Posts: 161

    i think my vega64 is borked,my monitor is a 5yr old dell widescreen 2500x1080p

    tried all different cables to try and get it going when i try and go into the monitors settings (osd? i thinks that you call it) i just get padlock icon and then a message saying a dvi-d cable is not attached and will go into power saving mode

    the only one that worked was a hdmi with a dvi-d cable adapter but it only give resolutions very well below the native resolution

    then when i try and install the driver for this sapphire nitro+ the screen just goes black and goes on a loop the farthest it gets is the window screen then nothing

    i know the monitor works fine on my old gtx 670 ,just wondering with vega being newer and my monitor being quite old they are incompatible

    but i'm leaning towards the vega being borked

    any suggestion will be great!
     
  4. lltfdaniel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 23, 2009

    Posts: 1,716

    Location: Bournemouth

  5. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 5,916

    You should get an email from OcUK with a link to sign up to some AMD thing. Once you do that, you can redeem your keys (once the games are released).
     
  6. lltfdaniel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 23, 2009

    Posts: 1,716

    Location: Bournemouth

    Thanks for clearing that up for me.
     
  7. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 7,761

    Location: Knowhere

    I'm not sure that matters, Every air cooled Vega 64 gpu isn't guaranteed to work properly with a Vega 64 Liquid Cooled bios, you may find that that's part of the problem. Has it got a dual bios? Did you test it after putting it under water before changing the bios?
     
  8. mxttie

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 18, 2018

    Posts: 20

    I have a Gigabyte Vega 64 Windforce OC. I have have been granted the ability to RMA it due to issues where video output is lost and fan speed increases to 100% - but won't be able to for a day or so. As a result I have tried to gain some sense of stability from the GPU. It crashes about once a day, after that it seems to settle down but its frustrating enough that it happens. Any help is appreciated.

    As of now, I have tried undervolting and it has not worked for me.
     
  9. DoneADougalOnSofa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 3, 2012

    Posts: 1,492

    Location: Bath

    Rats.

    My game codes have expired. AMD pretty blunt about it. No Assassin's Creed for me then...

    Obviously my bad for leaving it so long, but a bit galling having spent 450 quid on the card. Harrumph!
     
  10. eeii

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 3, 2017

    Posts: 130

    Location: Mondas

    What are your temps like. That cards cooler is not the best so you will need a very well vented case. Is your Power supply 750W and have you connected it with two PCI-E cables.
     
  11. bigfoot4616

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 28, 2006

    Posts: 77

    same card back at overclockers at the moment for the same issues plus the pc locked up as well needing a manual power down. mine would uasually do it within 10 minutes of playing a game and then be alright for an hour or two before doing it again. spent a bit of time over xmas trying to get it more stable inculding undervolting and turning graphics settings right down but nothing made any differance.
     
  12. Bobillot

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 3, 2019

    Posts: 7

    Yes it has a dual bios, No I got the card second hand and it all redy had the cooling block so I never had a chance to test it other wise. I have tested it with both bios and the dry one worked better than the wet one but after reverting to 17.2 I can use afterburner again and it seems to run fine. I can run GTAV at max settings at 1440P but it seem to throttle so I need to under volt a bit more. Fallout 76 is still trash will not run at full power so I INI dropped the visual FX to cut down on the stuttering now its almost smooth.
     
  13. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,244

    Location: United Kingdom

    Surprised to see that you can still buy the Vega 64 reference Liquid version from a US retailer. :eek:

    I assume it is okay to post their name as they are based in the US and not a competitor to OcuK. Mods, please delete my post if this is not okay.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
  14. Thekwango

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 9,731

    Location: Northern Ireland

    i'd probably remove the reference - they have a global/uk site - though shipping costs to the UK are brutal from what i can see
     
  15. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,244

    Location: United Kingdom

    Thanks for the heads up, i'll edit my post.
     
  16. mxttie

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 18, 2018

    Posts: 20

    GPU temps sit between 60-75 degrees and I've never seen them reach 80.
    Using two PCI-E cables and have reseated the GPU with rewiring twice but no luck. The case doesn't have amazing ventilation but temps don't indicate an issue.
    PSU is a Super Flower 750W platinum.
     
  17. bigfoot4616

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 28, 2006

    Posts: 77

    just got an email saying i'm getting a refund for my gigabyte card, just about to order the sapphire one now.
     
  18. lltfdaniel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 23, 2009

    Posts: 1,716

    Location: Bournemouth

    This is a free give away, to whoever claims this first wins.

    [​IMG]

    Code is > 4EJS7PC9QNT62KGR to be used on www.amdrewards.com
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
  19. EL_JOCK

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 26, 2005

    Posts: 714

    Location: I can see OcUK from here

    Hi lltdaniel,

    Thank you very much, very kind of you to offer that out,

    Think that's the first time i have ever got something like that, normally well late to the party,

    Thank you again for your kindness, perfect end to my day....Had my first exam at University today and feel like a nailed it.

    Nice one
     
  20. lltfdaniel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 23, 2009

    Posts: 1,716

    Location: Bournemouth

    Enjoy my friend.