1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. stuartharrison

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2015

    Posts: 313

    Well.... I switched my bios from default performance (right) to the power saving (left) setting.
    Superposition score back up to 6850 for my mid 1672/1100mv setting - but my min fps are now over 42, which is over 2 better than before.
    I'll try playing around with this bios setting.
    Or is left (towards the back of the case) the performance setting?

    My main bios setting seems to be borked for now though.
     
  2. TrixX

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 4, 2017

    Posts: 438

    Location: Australia - Sunshine Coast

    If you updated to Feb Drivers, then roll back to Jan .1 or .2 drivers and see if you get the same loss of perf and crashes.

    I can't run the Feb drivers as it literally throttles as soon as hotspot temp hits 75C (instantly for me). With the older ones I get a crash at 90C on hotspot.


    EDIT: Left is Performance, Right is Power Save.
     
  3. nlyh

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 28, 2014

    Posts: 87

    Location: North East

    I was getting black screen drop (Screen disconnects, no input signal warning, and then comes back about 30 secs later) outs on two separate computers, one with V64(2) and the other V56. Initially I blamed it on the Division 2 Beta as that is what I was playing, but I ended up rolling the drivers back to something like 18.12.2 I think it was. The black screen drop outs then completely stopped.

    Could be related to the things I've seen people talking about lately in relation to 64/56.
     
  4. BISH422

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 1, 2006

    Posts: 253


    On the Nitro+ switch to rear of case (left ) is power save, switch to front of case (right) performance/
    . 210w v's 240w power limit
     
  5. Poneros

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 2,303

    <3 Chill. DotA 2 4K 60 with <90w of chip power.
     
  6. TrixX

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 4, 2017

    Posts: 438

    Location: Australia - Sunshine Coast

    Ah my bad :)
     
  7. stuartharrison

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2015

    Posts: 313

    Cheers guys.
    I'm still on the 19.1.2 driver - nothing has changed, so I'm not sure what's causing the throttling.
    I might try 18.12.2
    I'll try having a play with it later.
    I know someone said they got more stable underclocks on the power save setting.
    For whatever reason, it gives me better min fps than the performance setting.
    The settings I tried were all stable in gaming, so I've no idea why they're suddenly being throttled in the performance bios.

    I've never had a card that's given me as many problems as this one.
    On the other hand , I've never had one that's been as much fun as this one.
     
  8. YB2ndBEST

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 25, 2014

    Posts: 621

    Location: Charlotte, NC

    Make sure windows didn't "update" your gpu driver automatically. It was attempting to do that to me here recently which is odd as it usually never attempts that.
     
  9. faceman123

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,484

    Oh man the stock Vega is actually better than the Strix lol
     
  10. conma293

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 21, 2018

    Posts: 4

    I have an ASUS Strix V64. Stable at 1050/1100mV for P6/P7, HBM 1000mhz 1000mv. Mostly stable. It crashed monster hunter which can be a bit skittish so I changed P6 to 1100 also. Question is what is the pros cons of different vs identical voltages on P6/7, I see some mixed thinking in whether P6 and P7 voltages should be the same or different.

    Also how would one go about ramping up the clock speeds from here, I would like to be in the 1600s ingame, mostly sit around 1550 right now,
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019
  11. stuartharrison

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2015

    Posts: 313

    Try your memory at 1100mhz/1000mv first - have heaven running in windowed mode, so you can see if your settings are ok - it'll crash if it doesn't like it.
    Plus you can see what clock speed you're getting.
    Push the power slider to +50%, if you haven't already.
    What mhz do you have set for P6 and P7?
    Start with around 1632 for P7 (click apply) and work your way up - you can see what clock speeds you're getting as you'll have heaven running.
    On mine, 1672 is stable @1100mv - so far I can push it to 1702@1150mv.
    1672 should see you nicely into the 1600's+ in game. (at least 1615)

    The asus strix card is known to have problems with thermal throttling, so I'd keep an eye on that - it's to do with the thermal pads on the vrms, as I remember.
    It needs bigger pads to make contact with the heat spreader properly.
     
  12. stuartharrison

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2015

    Posts: 313

    It's still on the right driver for 19.1.2 - just checked -25.20.15015.1002 as windows lists it.
    It's working fine in the power saving bios.
    It's done some strange throttling thing in the performance bios (which has suddenly dropped by 10% or more)
    I suspect if I pull the power out, it will reset itself.

    I'm not sure if it's a problem with the card, driver bug, generic problem with vega due to all the sensors.
    I'll report it to amd and CS here, after I've investigated more.
     
  13. conma293

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 21, 2018

    Posts: 4


    Thanks I’ll try that, my P7 is already at 1632 stock, should I ramp up P7 by tens to try hit target then do P6 also, or just don’t worry about P6 at all. Also how important is it to ramp down P3-P5, all are currently 1050 stock. Got my mem to 1100 before seemed ok, how important is the mem OC, 1000-1040 is already a fair bit from 945 and stable in my experience
     
  14. Chrisc

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 581

    Location: Up Norf

    In no way other than top boost clock is it better than the strix. I only bought another card because the reference at 1440p/144hz was unbearable. After 3-4hours of gaming the strix is still hitting near 1600mhz on the core and I honestly cannot work out the hatred towards the strix, especially after the cooler fix. A friend of mine bought a sapphire 64 which cannot undervolt at all, he appears to have received a real dog of a card.
     
  15. stuartharrison

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2015

    Posts: 313

    I pushed my P6 up to 1632. Set P3 - P5 lower than your P6 P7. I'd do 950, 950, 1000.
    I have a faster one at P6 1672/1100, P7 1702/1150.
    You can also do some quiet, low power settings - I found there's not much difference in real world fps.
    Most of them seem to be able to do 1100mhz for memory, so you may as well set it at that if it doesn't crash it - it runs at the same voltage regardless.
     
  16. faceman123

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,484

    Did you run hwinfo to see hot spot temps and vrm temps? It's a Hidden flame man, only few softwares report the temp correctly, most just show core temp I had the revised card and one non revision both hit 106c on the vrm, my sapphire sits 1665 at 60c all day long
     
  17. Jay540

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 2, 2019

    Posts: 23

    3DMark's website when trying to compare scores with people that have the same hardware or even same GPU is a total joke... Can any of you guys tell me if my score is ok? Keep in mine I disabled my XMP for stability and have my i5 6600k stock for the same reasons. I just want to get my Vega dialed in and then I'll go back to my XMP and OC. https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33479555 P6 1452@1000mv P7 1552@1100mv HBM 1050@975 Seems completely stable and no crashes on any games yet. Advice on what to do/try next? I am very new to all this and tbh I'm tired of messing with it. If I had known it would be like this to get peak performance I would have went a different direction. Ugghhh. Help me out VEGA overlords! And also my system was completely stable with my 4.6 stock voltage OC on my CPU and 3000 RAMP XMP but I swear with this VEGA those things were causing issues. Maybe I'm crazy tho… but it seems I've had far less issues just leaving them be. i5 at stock with Intel boost on and 2133 RAM the speed Intel guarantees. I'm happy with my VEGA temps right now but to be honest I don't care about noise at all. I just want the most out of it and it to not thermal throttle ever and to not mess up the boost algorithm I've been reading so much about. This is PowerColor VEGA 64 Air. Also I heard the AMD drivers responded horribly to Afterburner and all these other programs is that not true? Should I start messing with p5, p4 etc? I am so lost and wish I could just have someone come dial this puppy in for me.
     
  18. TrixX

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 4, 2017

    Posts: 438

    Location: Australia - Sunshine Coast

  19. Chrisc

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 581

    Location: Up Norf

    The hotspot was 98c iirc, I don't believe the VRMS were that hot. I'll have a look later.
     
  20. Jay540

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 2, 2019

    Posts: 23

    Nice thank you. So judging by the fact that you have LC and my CPU and XMP disabled it appears I'm not doing to bad so far eh? Going to try the 1100 HBM as others above have stated. Other than that can anyone suggest anything? Also those are older benches does VEGA perform better on the older drivers? Of course I'm only concerned with gaming FPS. Oh and what does the green highlight beside some of your numbers mean? Sorry very new to all this.
    So 1100 HBM netted me a few FPS http://www.3dmark.com/fs/18295750 I'm guessing this would also be in games as well? I play 1440p 144Hz though. Will have to stress test to see if it holds but 3 time spy runs and 3 Firestrike normal and no crashes no artifacts so far.
    Edit: Nvm it hard locked my system before I could even click the stress test button in 3dmark sadly.
    Edit2: Stress test passed. https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33484654 Guess I'll try 1100 HBM and up the voltage a bit next? Here's a log file from my stress test look ok to everyone? https://www.dropbox.com/s/9waxffiqs1eavo2/VEGA 64 Stress Test Log File #1.CSV?dl=0 Thanks a million everyone I'd be lost without online forums^^
    Edit 3: Now my screen did that cycle through display options thing it used to do and I look down and the AMD drivers crashed. It hasn't been doing this lately... guess it has to be the HBM? Or just a fluke and AMD's issue? Starting to feel like I'll never win this battle. It hasn't done this all week until literally just now.
    Edit 4: Oof. Just realized I had Relive on for all tests and benchmarks and Chill... *Facepalm*
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019