1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Turing RTX 2080 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Aug 21, 2018.

  1. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 27,691

    Location: Dalek flagship

  2. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 26,844

    Location: In a house

    :D
     
  3. sillyeagle

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 21, 2018

    Posts: 29

    Location: The Stratosphere

    Thank you, sir.
     
  4. Paladine

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2006

    Posts: 451

    The reference cards on blowers will be B class chip so if you want to overclock it is ill advised to go fo a reference blower.
     
  5. Ayahuasca

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 18,624

    Location: County Durham

    How's the 1 click OC scanner been for people who've used it?
     
  6. wookiee87

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 28, 2017

    Posts: 230

    i've just had conformation from nvidia the rma process is go, just need to wait for the rma number and instructions, as soon as the fe ti cards are back for pre order or in stock one will be comming my way plus a waterblock, plus when the 2080ti's are back and i have one souldn't need to overclock anyways as at stock speed that thing an absolute beast
     
  7. Paladine

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2006

    Posts: 451

    Anyone checked if the LED colour settings in Precision X1 works on the FE cards? From the teardown by GN it was made clear it is an RGB controller so just interested if it can be changed from green...
     
  8. Stanners

    Don

    Joined: Feb 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,862

    Location: Leeds

    I had a quick look, no colour options just the static, breathing etc.
     
  9. Stanners

    Don

    Joined: Feb 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,862

    Location: Leeds

    I tried it and it got to 2105Mhz. The card has been solid since I did it. Seems to actually work.
     
  10. Scarecrow

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 16, 2006

    Posts: 985

    is anyone having any randon framdrops on there cards?. i got the gigabyte card and having to run the card on simular settings as my 980ti. i cant plat in 4k as the fps is around 40 so dropped it to 1440 with vsync on and i hit 60 fine. it keeps dropping frames to 50 every now and then which has been bugging me as it didnt do that on my 980ti which was running at 1080p. Think my cpu id bottlenecking things which is my next upgrade but just wanted to find out if i have a card issue. Also playing with vsync off i get loads of frames but it is not smooth at all.
    my specs are

    Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz (Skylake) Socket LGA1151 Processor
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene Intel Z170 (Socket 1151) DDR4 Micro ATX Motherboard
    be quiet! Pure Power L8 600W '80 Plus Bronze' Power Supply
    Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 PC4-24000C15 3000MHz
    GIGABYTE 2080 RTX
     
  11. Stanners

    Don

    Joined: Feb 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,862

    Location: Leeds

    What games are causing this? Have you tried afterburner to see what the CPU/GPU usage is when this happens.
     
  12. Scarecrow

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 16, 2006

    Posts: 985

    Pubg and the new tomb raider. I’m getting weird graphic glitches in pubg as well
     
  13. justwondering

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 20, 2011

    Posts: 230

    Tomb raider has plenty of frame rate stutters , you won't get 60fps at 4k at all times ,turn things down to achieve 60fps
     
  14. Stanners

    Don

    Joined: Feb 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,862

    Location: Leeds

  15. Paladine

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2006

    Posts: 451

    Nice OC there :)
     
  16. Paladine

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2006

    Posts: 451

    6700K should not be a bottleneck...
    Might just be driver quirks.
     
  17. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,329

    Location: Surrey

    The Scanner is probably not going to be far off what the GPU is capable of, although the highest stable frequency is only one of the factors it looks for. It tests repeatedly between 5 key points along the VF curve to find an equilibrium. It's strange they haven't written anything like this sooner.

    Bit late to the party here as waiting for a Strix to arrive next week as well as the MSI Duke. Only part that's arrived thus far is the EKWB backplate, the block is coming Monday lol.
     
  18. Paladine

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2006

    Posts: 451

    You are lucky, I have to wait until October 8th for my Tis
     
  19. Unrivaledx21

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 4, 2017

    Posts: 209

    Location: UK

    The beast has arrived! [​IMG]
     
  20. Scarecrow

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 16, 2006

    Posts: 985

    thanks for the info. makes me feel better now :)