1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Updated X2 3800+ Overclocking Thread ...

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by A.N.Other, 23 May 2006.

  1. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    This is a table compiled from the Old X2 3800+ Overclocking Thread and from other threads that I've browsed with people clocking this chip.

    The table should be pretty useful for people who want a guide when clocking their X2 3800+s. If you want to be added or have your data changed / updated then post in this thread and I'll do my best ;) :p!

    If people want to use / process this data themselves, feel free - I've now got the data hosted online in the OpenOffice (.ods) and the MS Office Excel (.xls) formats ready to download. I will try to update these files whenever I make a table update, but if they aren't current, an update will probably be on it's way shortly (e-mail me - hotmail in trust - if you want or if the links die). The files are hosted using blighter's uploader (here), so a big thank you to him.

    The clocks highlighted red were suicide shots and unstable / too hot for day-to-day use. If you are using this thread for a guide, don't attempt those sort of speeds - go for the 2500ish area. Overclocks in green are with the AM2 processor.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    The average overclock is ... 2640 MHz ... well done lads!
     
    Last edited: 2 Mar 2007
  2. str

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,851

    Nice work! Be interesting to see the SuperPI 1M times for each entry as well or maybe for a future table.
     
  3. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    Agreed, although nobody posts them normally - too few to make a decent table anyway.
     
  4. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 979

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    Now that table tells me one thing... i'm doing something wrong if all i can boot to windows with is 2.3Ghz! :(

    Nope.... im gonna have to do it... gonna have to plead for help in a nice new fresh 'help needed for overclock on X2 3800' thread.... keep an eye out for it ;)

    Oh and great job on collating that A.N.Other, made me realise im underachieving lol
     
    Last edited: 23 May 2006
  5. Chris19

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Dec 2005

    Posts: 574

    The fastest Super Pi i got was 31.469 for 1M

    Also nice table good work there.
     
  6. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 979

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    Ok so this is what i have so far, but i'm at 2T, dunno how to change it to the seemingly standard 1T on the table, nor do i know what difference this makes but anyway...

    CPU Clock: 2400Mhz
    HTT: 240
    RAM FSB: get back to you on that
    Timings: 2.5, 3, 3, 8 2T GRRR :p
    VCore: 1.4V
    HT: 4x
    Core:Manchester
    Cooling: Thermaltake Golden Orb II
    Mobo: Asrock Dual SATA
     
  7. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,071

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    CPU Clock: 2600Mhz
    HTT: 260
    RAM FSB: 216
    Timings: 3-4-4-8 1T 2.8V
    VCore: 1.4V
    HT: 3x
    Core: Toledo
    Cooling: Scythe Ninja with Scythe Fan
    Mobo: DFI Ultra D
     
    Last edited: 27 May 2006
  8. lee87

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2005

    Posts: 2,592

    I'm already in the list but i've changed a few things.

    CPU Clock: 2700Mhz
    HTT: 270
    RAM FSB: 203mhz
    Timings: 2.5-2-2-5 1T (Corsair PC3200 Value RAM)
    VCore: 1.55V
    HT: 3x
    Core: Manchester
    Cooling: Thermaltake Blue Orb II
    Mobo: Asrock 939 Dual Sata2

    [​IMG]
    I think I can get it higher but, need better cooling.

    @Foehammer2003 - It's the MA Timing for 1T/2T in the cpu configuration section.
    @StevenG - Go to the memory tab in cpu-z to find out if your on 1T or 2T.
     
  9. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    Thanks guys! I'll stick you in later today.
     
  10. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    @ Foehammer
    There should be an option in BIOS called command rate or something. Open up all of the options and take a look (just don't change the ones you don't know about) - there will only be a 1T and 2T option for this one. It also depends on how you have your RAM configured. If you have 2 sticks, running in dual configuration, it will probably autoset 1T. If you have more than 2, running at 1T will not be possible.

    @ StevenG
    You can determine 1T/2T in CPUz, which I would imagine you have? On the memory tab, it's put as 'command rate'.

    // EDIT // Only just read all of lee's post ... I didn't need to type any of this :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: 27 May 2006
  11. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,071

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    i had the older version. im on 1T
     
  12. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    Right-o. Thanks for your input guys. I've updated the table in the OP, so that you don't have to find the latest revision in the thread.

    I've added some more people (such as that slacker Otacon :rolleyes:!) and a running average as well.

    I've got quite a few holes in the table now though! If you are one of those sinners, give me some more info please :)
     
    Last edited: 29 May 2006
  13. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Dec 2005

    Posts: 914

    Location: UK

    A.N.Other,
    Nice work mate, I myself thankyou as its awsome to see them in chart format.

    Also
    Mine is under "Chilly1 Phase 402a" Just for the record. :D
     
  14. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,759

    Location: Surrey

    Wow... suprised to see I'm still so far up that list!

    My phase is long gone now but the chip still managed to comfortably to run on stock cooling at 2.6 in a shuttle..

    I'm sure Tom got past my score though.. he must have done??
     
  15. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,462

    Location: Pencoed

  16. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,759

    Location: Surrey

  17. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,071

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    should there not be a column for steppings? ( not that i can remember mine lol )
     
  18. melchy

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,538

    Location: Scotland

    CPU Clock : 2500Mhz
    HTT: 250
    RAM FSB: 250
    Timings: 2.5-4-4-8 1T
    VCore: 1.475V
    HT: 4x
    Core: Toledo
    Cooling: Air - XP-90C
    Mobo: MSI K8N Neo4 Plat
     
    Last edited: 28 May 2006
  19. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    Good work tom! I still need some of your information though :)

    Thanks Melchy.

    I'll update the table this evening.

    Can everyone point the aforenamed sinners in the direction of this thread if you see them about.
     
  20. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,462

    Location: Pencoed

    X2 3800
    1.7v
    330.75x10
    ram @ 236mhz 2-2-2-8

    mach 2 cooled
    HT x 3
    Manchester core

    DFI sli-dr