Thinking of buying a 208 GTi

Soldato
Alright guys, I'm looking at a few cars currently, I'm open to ideas. I'm 27 years old, I don't have any no claims, I currently use my works van which is on a fleet insurance which should lower my cars insurance. I don't really need to drive long distance or many miles. I drive for a living but I'm sick of a 200K Transit Van so I'm after a car!

Anyway my budget is £7k to £12k. Lately I've been reading a lot on the Peugeot 208 GTI. It just looks perfect, fun to drive and filled with glowing reviews. Does anyone own one of these?

Here's a couple I've looked at.
http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/2013-Peugeo...%3Ae87b86a91590a2aba43b7b6cffb799ae%7Ciid%3A8

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/2016-Peugeo...%3Af1f0aacc1590a7854edbc630ffa30042%7Ciid%3A7

The Fiesta ST is another option but 208 GTI looks a bit better IMO but I know I'd be playing it safe with a ST

Any advice guys!

Soldato
OP
I have never been a fan of Mini Coopers. As for the Renaults, I've looked at 200s but I don't fancy a paddle shifter gearbox, I'm pretty much after a full manual.

My mates 2007 Clio (97bhp) turned into a lemon after a few years and has been stuck in the garage for over 6 months now I don't think he even wants it back as the electrics went (airbag sensor). You need to have your car repaired with special codes nowadays sadly.

Ideally I would like to steer clear from Renault due to reliability problems down the line, I do feel like I'll have it better with Peugeot for some reason. We use Peugeot vans, Bippers and Partners (63-15 plates) and they never give use trouble and some are on 140K. My mate seems to think my 208 GTI will just become a money pit.

As for the BMW, I actually originally wanted a BMW 320D or 320D. I'm sort of still open to one it's just I'd imagine buying a naturally aspirated petrol engine to be more fun and better if Imy not traveling much. An upside to a 320D is I could give Uber a whirl as a second job.