Thoughts or recommendations for a static site generator?

Associate
Hi everyone,

I want to make my first foray into usins a static website generator. I'm comfortable with coding and website creation from back in the day, so don't mind that a lot of it will be new to me.

I've had a look on Jamstack https://jamstack.org/generators/ and I think sticking to one of the big, highly-rated, well supported generators would be a good idea (at least as an introduction to Jamstack), so I'm considering Hugh, Gatsby and Jekyll, maybe Next.js too.

Would appreciate thoughts on the above (Hugh, Gatsby, Jekyll and Next.js), or any other suggestions.

N.B. there's no particular project or other limitations (like timescale).

Thanks in advance.

I'm a WordPress dev but I'm learning Jamstack style development now because it's the future of websites. The speed benefit from using a headless cms is quite noticeable, especially with a React/Next.js front end.

I've been using the free version of Strapi to make my object/collections. It's really really easy if your a decent coder, but imo it's really limited from a CMS point of view, like not having built in slugs or navigation option, page parents, etc that I'm so used to.

What I've come to realise is that WordPress cms using a GraphlQl plugin gives you everything you need for a RestApi/React front end.

I haven't tried Contentful or anything else, but since Strapi seems to be so popular I was surprised how simple it is.
Maybe that's the point, after you'd started to make it more complex, you can roll out your own version via npm with all your added components already built.

Last edited:
Thanks for your suggestion ChroniC. I hadn't heard of Strapi before, I'll certainly put Strapi + GraphlQl plugin on the short list if I'm looking for a CMS in future.

For now I've decided to go with the Svelte framework and Sveltekit builder https://kit.svelte.dev/