Threadripper 7000 series for mixed workloads including gaming

Associate
Hey all, I am a new user but long time lurker looking for some advice on my new build.

I am an experienced PC builder and have no worries about selecting components that fit and work together, but want to make sure I am not specifying something that will be a lemon for my two, seemingly opposing intended usage scenarios.

For my work I create enormous composite photographs and videos which requires a performant multi-threaded processor. The work scales linearly with threads, so the more I have, the quicker the jobs are complete. For a number of years I have used my first-generation Threadripper rig, which is decent for work, but absolutely sucks for gaming. I intend to use this system during out of work hours for gaming, and may even game while I wait for the gigapictures to stitch. Yes, I spend most of my time in a darkened room :D. I am not worried about having "the fastest possible gaming system", but likewise I do not want it to suck and be a limit for the 4080 Super (or potentially 4090) I intend to couple it with. My questions are:

1. Is the 7995WX a reasonable gaming processor, given its strength for my work use, or is it going to have a load of performance issues like my current rig? I want to play triple A titles at full detail. No esports, ultra-high-fps required.

2. Is a 4090 a waste with this CPU (if it is CPU bound), and therefore should I get a 4080 Super instead? I game on a Samsung Odyssey 49" 5120x1440 monitor, and work on an 8K Dell UltraSharp UP3218K.

3. Can anyone recommend some RDIMMs that don't look like server RAM? I want this machine to look good as it is the centrepiece of my "man cave".