Total beginner wanting to learn to create Wordpress websites.

Associate
Hi guys,

Call it a quick career change / extra feather to my cap, but I'm keen to learn how to create Wordpress based websites.

I have no html or coding experience and would welcome any thoughts about where to start and how to progress to achieve this.

Should I start with html or is there any other recommended path to follow?

Any pointers very gratefully received.

I'd start with HTML, get an idea of how to structure basic pages and create links etc.

This is great: http://www.w3schools.com/html/

I'd then look at CSS and how it allows you to create templates etc.

Later down the road, look at JavaScript. That's where the real magic and demand is.

I wouldn't use w3schools for anything other than a quick reference, I know they've had a lot of issues in the past with things being correct on there, or showing bad practice.

Codecademy is great and free, interactive development environment and active forums if you get stuck. It'll start you with everything you need and move on to PHP, Python or Ruby.

As for Wordpress, you don't need to know code to start using it. get some free web space, most have a wordpress installer or use FTP and do it yourself (best way) then go from there using the templates etc :) Code comes in when you want to start editing more in depth things and creating custom templates etc

I've recently started doing this myself (years experience now), got a little bit of cash from it as well and want to be able to start a small business doing websites for small businesses over my time at Unviersty.

I started with just weebly and their website builder and messing around with the CSS and such. Figure out how to totally change one of their templates, like fonts, colours, positions of everything. Got better at creating my own things with photoshop as well (such as buttons, icons etc).