Upgrade Advice

Associate
Thanks in advance for anyone who can help me here. I am (sort of) a PC gamer. I have never played anything too hardware intensive (Overwatch, ESO, WoW) but I have recently decided to start using my PC to play a more diverse range of games to save buying a PS4/5 or an Xbox. I recently jumped onto Steam and bought AC Odyssey in the summer sale, and wow my PC CANNOT play this game! The graphics quality is on the lowest and it just looks and even sounds dreadful (not sure how the sound is so bad). My PC specs are as follows:

Intel Core i5-4430 CPU
8GB Ram
GeForce GTX 750ti
Corsair VS650

So from what I know I need more RAM and have been told to get a better graphics card. But then I have also been told I might need to upgrade my motherboard and power supply, which I know nothing about. I am no expert on PC's at all and really am just looking for some advice on what parts I should focus on upgrading, so I can get my PC to at least PS4 level graphics (if that makes any sense) - or whether I should just sell the machine and get a new setup.

Budget wise, it's not high. I cannot afford to spend thousands but could probably spend up to 500.00 if I had to on parts - and if it's time to get a new rig then I would probably have to look at saving for that so upgrading what I have sounds like the go to for me.

Any advice is more than welcome!

Soldato
Now is a bad time to be buying a new GPU: new GPUs are in the offing - probably launching in August. And it is the GPU that will give you the most immediate performance improvement.

A decent GPU - something like a GTX 1660 Super - will consume half of your budget, but a GPU with that performance will be available for £50-£100 less in a few months.

Do you have a SSD? Because that will be the other big change: your PC will be much more responsive. Windows and games will load much faster.

Associate
OP