1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrade Windows 7 to Windows 10 ?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by foster grant, Nov 3, 2019.

  1. foster grant

    Soldato

    Joined: May 10, 2012

    Posts: 5,882

    Location: North London

    OK my Wife is thinking of upgrading her Win 7 to Win 10 , can it still be done for free please ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Dano

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 19, 2006

    Posts: 9,300

    Location: UK

  3. foster grant

    Soldato

    Joined: May 10, 2012

    Posts: 5,882

    Location: North London

  4. Dano

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 19, 2006

    Posts: 9,300

    Location: UK

    Yep, just download the media creation tool, select upgrade this pc now when it asks and follow the instructions, it'll automatically activate as soon as it connects to the internet once setup.
     
  5. foster grant

    Soldato

    Joined: May 10, 2012

    Posts: 5,882

    Location: North London

    Thank you :)
     
  6. stockhausen

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2006

    Posts: 10,372

    Upgrading Windows 7 to Windows 10 works - I have just done it twice.
    Windows 10 is desperately slow and suffers from so much clutter - I hate it :(
     
  7. Angilion

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 5, 2003

    Posts: 16,816

    Location: Just to the left of my PC

    Is it still free? That page states that you need a licence for Win 10 and I thought the free Win 10 licences for people with Win 7 or 8 licences stopped ages ago.

    I'm going to have to "upgrade" to Win 10 before security updates for Win 7 stop and I'd rather not pay for it because I don't really want it. So if I have a choice, I'll do it for free if it's legit. Paying £120 to become a product, lose privacy and security and reliability and be forced to eat whatever MS feeds to me really doesn't appeal to me. It seems like adding insult to injury.
     
  8. Dano

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 19, 2006

    Posts: 9,300

    Location: UK

    Yes, it's still free.
     
  9. Confused Stu

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 27, 2009

    Posts: 2,631

    Location: Gillingham, Kent

    I've recently done a couple of fresh installs of Win 10, and just given it an old (from an old, scrapped PC) Win 7 key when it prompts for a key during the install process. Soon as you go online, it happily shows as activated.
     
  10. Angilion

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 5, 2003

    Posts: 16,816

    Location: Just to the left of my PC

    Cheers for that information. That saves me £120 to spend on something else. Better make a note of my Win 7 key before I "upgrade" to 10.

    Hmm...I have 2. One on my old case, one in Windows itself. Guess the one I'm currently using is the one to go with, since that definitely authenticates. I vaguely recall buying Win7 again after changing most of my hardware because the previous key was OEM. I've no objection to paying for an OS. Just to paying for Win10.

    Hmm...£120 would get me a 1TB 860 EVO. I don't need another TB of internal storage, but it would be convenient for more games.
     
  11. Angilion

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 5, 2003

    Posts: 16,816

    Location: Just to the left of my PC

    I have another question - do you have to deactivate the Windows 7 key before being able to use it to activate a Windows 10 installation?
     
  12. Dano

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 19, 2006

    Posts: 9,300

    Location: UK

    I've never needed to.
     
  13. Derek W

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 1, 2008

    Posts: 11,193

    Location: Glebe Park

    ****BUMP****

    I'm about to do this now as well but my worry is that will Windows 10 eat up the last remaining space on my HD or will it just do a fresh install while keeping all my applications data etc in place? The reason i ask is that I've got 22gb left on my 250Gb HD and I've read that Windows 10 is 20Gb so I'm assuming i could be in trouble :(
     
  14. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,331

    @Pringle W

    Search for Disk Cleanup. Tick everything (after making sure you keep things you want) and clean up the system.

    Then run it again but click it for System files and repeat. That will free up some space. Also delete everything in %temp%. You can access that via run.
     
  15. Derek W

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 1, 2008

    Posts: 11,193

    Location: Glebe Park

    I normally do that and it can free up a couple of GB. I think I should be able to shift a few things onto an external HD as well but my question is really the space taken up by windows 7 will it be cleared and overwritten by 10 or will it sit dormant next to it?
     
  16. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,331

    Initially it will be there possible windows.old but you can clear that again using Disk Cleanup once you in windows 10.
     
  17. Derek W

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 1, 2008

    Posts: 11,193

    Location: Glebe Park

    Thanks for this. I'll give it a go over the weekend and see how I get on.
     
  18. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,331

    plenty space you will be fine. You could temp move up to cloud. Try mega.nz it's 50GB free.
     
  19. Derek W

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 1, 2008

    Posts: 11,193

    Location: Glebe Park


    No issue with space on other hard drives with 3Tb hanging about, just the 250Gb SSD that's running out of space!
     
  20. wolfie138

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2013

    Posts: 3,397

    I've heard you need about 25gb free for the new install as it creates all sorts of recovery and work files etc, so check that out before you start.