Using Unity and C# to create a survival game

Soldato
Okay so this has been an on going project for a while now. I've changed in a proper model compared to the first person controller capsule graphic... Now this model is animated and uses an animator controller and an animation clip. I've never used this way to animate in Unity before and it's perplexed me... I've looked all over the web to no avail.. Hoping someone here has an idea.

Also.. I want to use a mesh collider with the model however for whatever reason the mesh collider orients 90 degrees to the y axis and I'm unsure of how to fix this... If I manage to however I may be able to ditch the crappy controller I've been using and instead use physics to do movement as that would be preferred.. (currently for whatever reason the capsule collider doesn't properly move across the terrain... catches a lot and causes havock with the camera... I can fly but it's not really what I want...)

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Soldato
OP
First person or third person? Either way creating the state machine in mecanim should be pretty straightforward....what in particular are you having trouble with?

http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/modules/beginner/live-training-archive/animate-anything

Sure you need a mesh collider? It's usually best to use a few primitive box/sphere/capsule colliders.

I just looked everywhere on the internet (having no experience with the animator controller at all) I actually found the official unity youtube lesson on it so thats all cleared up now. Erm I could not use a mesh. However the controller capsule collider is pretty screwed up currently and I'd like to move away from it if I could (what with it not being the best in the world anyway) if I move my camera to look down it interacts with the collider (for some reason?) and boom.. Character goes flying.

Soldato
OP