Video game creators

Soldato
Who here works in the gaming industry, artist, programmer, QA person, other technical bod...

How do you find it, how did you get started?

AGD

AGD

Soldato
I'm a programmer/designer in the games industry.

Originally I did physics and realised I wanted to do games about 3 years in. So I taught myself C++ and started learning as much as possible. You will get nowhere in this industry unless you are a strong self-learner!!!

I entered a well known games competition with some friends and we won and were nominated for a BAFTA 'Ones to Watch' award. This really helped me get my first industry job.

I've only been in the industry for about 3 years but I've found it great. The people are generally friendly and smart. The workforce is very young so tends to be liberal and progressive.

Working conditions do seem to vary greatly though (my company was fine with basically no 'crunch' but some other studios apply a lot of pressure to work long hours) - generally the smaller and newer a company is, the better the working conditions.

There are very few women! :p

The industry is relatively small so don't **** people off as news will get round.

General advice for getting into the industry as a programmer:

- Do something mathsy at uni (engineering, physics, maths, computer science)
- Make games in your spare time (you need at least one fairly polished small game in your portfolio)
- Try and work on a game project in a team (e.g. with friends/people you met online/at uni etc) - companies love this in your portfolio
- Don't think that everyone is making AAA games you have heard of, many people break into the industry working for start-ups or small companies making casual games rather than Halo 17.
- Always keep learning (hopefully you love programming and games so this should come naturally)

Can't give specific advice on artist/produces/designer but there is plenty out there.

Last edited:
Caporegime