Virgin Build - My first self build

Associate
Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to this whole world of self building computers, most of my previous desktops or laptops have been bought ready to be switched on.
But over the last year or so, I found my self out growing the performance of these standard computers. I thought about switching and buying a good Mac Book or even an iMac, but after a discussion with my mate, I decided to have a go at building exactly what I wanted/needed.
I set my self the goal of building something with double the performance of that which would be twice the price - in basics could I build something for half the price with double the performance found in a stock computer?
I plan to detail my build here, complete with pictures along the way. I will also post problems and solutions that I have over come.
If you are interested in hearing about this "virgin build" please let me know, if I don't hear anything I'll know not to continue with this thread.
Cheers,

Soldato
With any self build you ideally need to decide what kind of performance you want to achieve and how much you are willing to spent ideally, in the form of a budget.

After you have done that you need to decide what chipset/CPU choice is the best platform for you to go for.

Then the speccing can begin!

Associate
OP
Hey,
thanks for getting back to me, however I think I may have mislead you in my earlier post, sorry for the confusion.
I have already specced, ordered, built, tested and used my first self built computer. The reason I posted was to see if people were interested in hearing what I've opted for, what problems & solutions I've had and how the computer compares to my original goal (see post 1).

So the spec:
CPU: Intel Core i7 3820 - Quad core 3.6GHz 10MB Cache Mem and Socket LGA2011 chipset X79
MotherBoard: Asus P9 X79 (8D) Quad Channel DDR3 Tri-SLI 2xSATA III & 4xSATA II ports
RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance Quad Channel DDR3 2133MHZ (Red)