Wanting to learn Pascal

Soldato
Hi Guys,

With wanting to study computer science at university and only having a shaky knowledge of VB at best I want to get myself up to speed.

So as it's one of the easiest for a noob to learn, I want to learn pascal first. Can someone please recommend me some good learning materials to sink my teeth into, books, websites etc?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Soldato
I started programming with Pascal (then Object Pascal and later Delphi) and although it was great to learn with at the time, at the time I also thought floppy disks were the business. It's obviously not changed, but I'm really not sure I'd encourage anyone to learn Pascal now. I'd really struggle to find a practical application to learning Pascal - in honesty it's a bit of a dead end.

Python is generally considered a good learning language that teaches structure and good coding practice. It's as easy or as difficult as you need it to be, and there are many great guides out there and a much more active user base for learning.

Last edited:

AJK

AJK

Associate
With wanting to study computer science at university and only having a shaky knowledge of VB at best I want to get myself up to speed.

"Up to speed" with what? If you know which CS course(s) you're likely to apply for, then you might be best off learning a language that features on the course?

What do you actually want to do with the language you learn? Desktop or web programming, apps, etc? Learn something appropriate to what you want to do.

Soldato
^ This is good advice. Unfortunately it almost guarantees you'll be doing Java, though, like every other comp sci graduate, so you'll have to stand out in a different way ...

Soldato
OP
To be honest I'm not sure what I will actually be doing with any languages I learn... Apart from having a strong interest in studying comp science, in particular artificial intelligence, I'm a total novice.