Web / Software developer interviews - how to answer difficult questions

Associate
Hi

I have three job interviews coming up in the next week, all of them for PHP developer roles. I am an intermediate level php developer with just under two years experiance. However, I have mainly worked for web development agencies where getting the job done as fast as possible is their only real concern because that’s how they make profit e.g. charge by the hour. This has meant that they didn’t really follow best practices, testing was pretty much non-existent, they didn’t even use a version control system as the designers hated it and makings things look nice was more of a priority.

I am trying to move away from this and get into a more professional software development focused role and as such the interview process is a lot more stringent. I am technically capable of doing this kind of role but often convincing HR managers of this is a different story so how should I answer the following type of questions in a way that is going to aid me in getting a job. Obviously I have my own answers but Id like to know how you would answer them as either a software developer or developer manager.

How do you organise yourself when working on a project?

How do you keep track of where you are?

How do you comminicate with your team?

What is youe experience of communicating with clients?

I am currently going through the job application process and so far been to a single interview. I am currently more worried about fluffing up the technical interview when it comes around sometime this week / next week.