What is the average salary for Junior / Mid Level Programmer?

Soldato
I was just wondering what the average salary is for a junior / mid-level programmer is?

I am experienced in Python, C and JavaScript and can get by in Java. I am also very comfortable doing system administration on Linux servers and workstations. I've been doing all of this as a self-taught hobby for about 7 or 8 years now and feel that my knowledge is pretty strong.

The only things I am laking are the tools needed to work in a team as I have always worked by myself, but I'm pretty sure I could pick those up in a couple of days or a week.

What should I be expecting salary wise for a full-time job? I live in Sussex now.

Commissario
What real-world, commercial experience do you have though? If you've never had a job in this area then you would go in as a junior, in London this could range from £25k to £40k depending on the type of company etc.

Soldato
With no real world experience you'll be starting at the bottom. You may well progress quickly, but few sane managers will hire someone who's completely unproven at the average salary rate for the position.

Use payscale.com to get an idea.
That site is a joke. According to that I'm £12k overpaid. At the end it lists 'people like you' and gave me a 'Lead Web Developer' with 5 years experience who's on £18k.

Seems like it's been broken by garbage input.

Associate
If it was me I would also think twice about hiring someone with no commercial experience to work remotely full-time.

Permabanned
What should I be expecting salary wise for a full-time job? I live in Sussex now.
20-25k for your first role
if you're good, you should be up to 30-35k in about 3 years, but you might have to change company to get it.
after about 5 years you can attempt to snag some of the 45k+ more senior jobs.

Caporegime