What productive things to do when quiet at work?

Associate
I'm a web developer working for an agency and we've been going through a quiet period and this looks to continue for another few weeks.

Does anyone have any ideas I can pitch to my boss on what to do to stay productive? Getting very bored of reading through blog articles and watching tutorials and feel we should actually be building something. We have a base solution(boilerplate) we use for new projects and this is also about as finely tuned as it can be, so not much to do here either.

Part of the problem is the rest of the company is quite busy so there's been little consideration with regards to what development are doing.

Soldato
Is there anything your company needs, such as an employee holiday booking system? You could ask if you can at least start something like that? But, rather than just writing something plain, also learn some new frontend stuff along the way like KnockoutJS, Bootstrap and make it API based so you can separate code and interface. Basically over-engineer it and learn some stuff which might apply to something bigger. Over-engineering it will also take a bit more thought and time and hopefully take you up to your next proper project.

This all depends on what sort of web developer you are though and what you know already etc.

Last edited:
Associate
As the rest of the company is so busy speak with your colleagues see if there is anything that you could work on that would ease their workload.

For example is there a report/document/builds that are currently manually created that could be automated or auto generated based on user inputs, all depends on what your company do but I am sure there is something that you could create that would be beneficial to your company and colleagues.

Soldato
Why not look at developing your own SEO tool that you can use in-house?

Build sites, pop it through the SEO tool and see how it scores.