What scares you in a horror game?

Associate
I am a Computer Games Dev student at uni going into my final year and would like to just do some research and get feedback from budding gamers like yourselves. The feedback is going to help me get an idea of what works and what does'nt work for gamers in horror games.

What is it that scares you in a horror game?(sound/atmosphere/lighting)

Give an example of a game or a particular moment in gaming that scared you the most and why.

What scares you in real life? (fears)

Have you played a VR horror game? If so which game and how was the experience?

Any feedback would be helpful, thanks!

Last edited:
Some great feedback here already, thanks to all members so far!

I agree with the F.E.A.R answers, scary game back in the day, I'm guessing it still holds up, not played it in years.

From personal experience, I found playing Alien Isolation really topped it for me in regards to the atmosphere and sound.

Keep the answers coming.

Another spin on that is the unexpectedness of something.

For me it was the spiders in Minecraft. They're blocky so they don't appear visually scary, the sounds aren't particularly scary either. It was more of the way spiders could jump at you sent shivers down my spine.

FWIW i'm not an arachnophobe either.

Whereas i've found other games with more realistically visual looking zombies etc, haven't done anything.
I know what you mean with the spiders, I also think the EnderMen are creepy as hell too.

Does anybody find enemies chasing you scary or suspenseful?

This! I think this is the only game that made me feel that way even with me having a machine gun to hand and a little girl being my arch enemy lol

The atmosphere as you move through the structure not really knowing what is going on but enough pretence to know you shouldn't really be there.

And I think this says in what really makes fear whilst playing a game