Wheel Aligment Question

IC3

IC3

Soldato
I went for a Laser Geo alignment yesterday which was carried out on a Hunter, the settings were fairly consistent among the wheels apart from Front Left Wheel, the camber is Positive compared to the right side.

The left front wheel has some curb rash around the edge from last owner, as its the only one with curbing my guess is they hit a curb and potentially damaged something in the suspension. My guess at the moment is either Lower Control Arm or Upper Control Arm is bent ?

Last edited:

IC3

IC3

Soldato
OP
That's a bit of an extreme view isn't it. That toe is within factory spec!

Front left lower arm needs replacing.
I'm just trying to use logic, looking at the wheel it doesn't have a chunk of the Rim missing, however the curb rash is pretty nasty... I'm not surprised though, lady owner...

So my logical thinking was right? I'm a newbie when it comes to this stuff, just thought that since it was side impact in the lower part it would be the Lower Control Arm.

image.png

Should I change both, or just the LCA?

IC3

IC3

Soldato
OP
I'll order the lower control arm, swap it over and go for a adjustment on that one wheel alone. Thanks all!

Now what brand to go for, BMW want 149£ that's a no no. :p

IC3

IC3

Soldato
OP
Is it generally a good idea to replace suspension stuff in pairs so would it be best to do the lower arms on both sides?

Upgrade to M4 arms, you know you want to :p

That did cross my mind, do you know if the rear underbody brace is actually worth it? I'm comparing this to TOMs bracing I had on the chaser and this looks comically thin and fragile in comparison. lol

IC3

IC3

Soldato
OP
https://www.babybmw.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=74&t=89536&p=1161125#p1160972