Where to start programming

Associate
Hi. I'm an aspiring student currently in my first year of a games design course at college, and am hoping to then progress potentially to university and beyond. Programming has been a great interest of mine for a while now, but I don't have any experience with it nor know where to start. Over the next few years during my education I want to build some kind of personal portfolio of software/games for my own use. The trouble is I don't really know where to start building a portfolio and what I should be making to start out with and how to do it, so I need some help..
Any resources for tutorials will be appreciated. Of course I'm not limited to any specific languages but obviously something more simpler for starting out would be great
Thanks.

Man of Honour
Programming has been a great interest for a while yet you have no experience in it :p?

When I first learned (computing and college)I was using pascal, making calculators. I have no idea if this helps :D

Man of Honour
Depends what sort of games your thinking of programming for i.e. Android or other mobile stuff tends to be different languages used compared to most PC games, regardless you will probably need atleast a basic grounding in C of some variant even if you end up doing mostly java (yuck) development.

Soldato
Go to Codeacademy, study the PYTHON course, once you have a good grounding get pygame and go from there. Lots of free resources out there for python.

Other options would be HTML5 games or looking at a more common language such as C++ or Java.

However, it comes down to specifics as more than one language can be used in a game or a piece of software. What type of games do you want to develop? what platform do you want to develop on?