Which language for SaaS type stuff

Soldato
If you were building an on-line app. A kind of SaaS type thing, similar to the likes of say mail chimp or campaign monitor (but way more basic), or a blogging platform, or cms, which language would be best suited to the task, in terms of elegance, scalability, and deployment?

Whilst I mess around with HTML/CSS i'm not a programmer, but want to learn a language whilst trying to build an on-line program to manage email lists.

If you were building an on-line app. A kind of SaaS type thing, similar to the likes of say mail chimp or campaign monitor (but way more basic), or a blogging platform, or cms, which language would be best suited to the task

There is no single language/platform suited to that. Any of the 'web' languages are suited to it so whether you choose PHP, Ruby, Python, .NET, Perl, Coldfusion etc etc it doesn't matter. Same goes for any web app you can think of really.

For a newbie, PHP & Python are fairly easy to pick up and both are capable, powerful languages.

I'd personally recommend .NET C#/MVC along with Entity Framework or NHibernate as worth learning, bit harder to pick up but a joy to use. Equally, any of the previous examples would do the job so just try a few tutorials and see which you are most comfortable with.

PHP is the most widespread. It misses a lot of what I consider to be core functionality for anything beyond simple sites - but you really can get stuff up and running in no time with it.
A more heavily software engineered site would typically be done in Java or .NET; although sometimes I find both of those languages to be a little heavyweight.
Ruby and Python are both well suited to the task, Ruby was the hot new thing a few years back; but I think Python has more Inertia (and certainly more developers know it).