Associate
Joined
24 Feb 2020
Posts
35
Hello,

I've recently noticed that there are a lot of group policies set on my personal pc that only I use at home. I don't know why this is as I don't remember ever setting anything like that. I've tried many different suggestions on different forums but nothing seemed to work, and now I cannot access any of the group policy editors with the error message 'MMC could not create the snap-in.'. My account has administrator and I even made a second account on my pc and set it as administrator to see if that would help. I started with Windows 10 Home but upgraded to Windows 10 Pro (unactivated) shortly after because I thought maybe that would fix it. Please help I can't even access the Microsoft Store without it telling me that the group policies are preventing it!
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Oct 2002
Posts
2,530
If you can't access gpedit.msc anymore then you might get away with deleting the contents of C:\Windows\System32\GroupPolicy and then running gpupdate /force from an admin command prompt.

You can't apply policies with Home editions of Windows, and to be honest if you don't know how these became configured it's probably best to do a clean install. A clean install of Professional will not have any local policies configured.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
24 Feb 2020
Posts
35
If you can't access gpedit.msc anymore then you might get away with deleting the contents of C:\Windows\System32\GroupPolicy and then running gpupdate /force from an admin command prompt.

You can't apply policies with Home editions of Windows, and to be honest if you don't know how these became configured it's probably best to do a clean install. A clean install of Professional will not have any local policies configured.
I deleted the contents and then tried to run that command and it says 'gpupdate is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file'
 
Associate
Joined
5 Jan 2011
Posts
528
Microsoft Teams does this - copies group policies over from a Teams domain host!

I deleted group policy folder as mentioned above but never found a permanent fix to them being applied at home.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
24 Feb 2020
Posts
35
Microsoft Teams does this - copies group policies over from a Teams domain host!

I deleted group policy folder as mentioned above but never found a permanent fix to them being applied at home.
ah that's annoying I need teams - what do you mean by never found a permanent fix, what did deleting the folder do?
 
Caporegime
Joined
9 Aug 2008
Posts
30,741
Location
127.0.0.1
I've been considering this but I really don't want to have to do it

You might not have a choice if it's not repairable. You might be able to fix it by running a 20H2 install over the top as an upgrade. Have you done sfc /scannow by command line as well? which might also fix it.
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Dec 2006
Posts
8,852
Location
@ManCave
Hello,

I've recently noticed that there are a lot of group policies set on my personal pc that only I use at home. I don't know why this is as I don't remember ever setting anything like that. I've tried many different suggestions on different forums but nothing seemed to work, and now I cannot access any of the group policy editors with the error message 'MMC could not create the snap-in.'. My account has administrator and I even made a second account on my pc and set it as administrator to see if that would help. I started with Windows 10 Home but upgraded to Windows 10 Pro (unactivated) shortly after because I thought maybe that would fix it. Please help I can't even access the Microsoft Store without it telling me that the group policies are preventing it!

Home does not have Group policy its only avaliable in Pro+
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Dec 2006
Posts
8,852
Location
@ManCave
in which case activating would fix the issue, Group policy is blocked by unlicensed version of Windows.

Group policy is only avaliable to Pro version & its the license that gives you the extra features Home/Pro install is identical.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
24 Feb 2020
Posts
35
in which case activating would fix the issue, Group policy is blocked by unlicensed version of Windows.

Group policy is only avaliable to Pro version & its the license that gives you the extra features Home/Pro install is identical.
ah so I have to activate? I thought that could be the case and I could activate it easily enough
 
Soldato
Joined
28 Sep 2008
Posts
13,926
Location
Britain
indeed the its license that unlock features not the Install the installs are identical.

Yeah that's not correct, sorry. The ISO for business editions of W10 is not the same as Home. You don't need to activate Win10 Pro to be able to use (or test) GPOs. He's upgraded to Pro, but hasn't activated it, but it's still Pro and therefore GPOs can be modified.

OPs, there's a PS script available on Technet as part of the W10 Security Baselines that will set all your GPOs back to day one. Probably a quick google will help you find it.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
8,021
Location
The Land of Roundabouts
if it is group policy's they will be under the reg keys
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Policies
and
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\System\CurrentControlSet\Policies

to return to stock just delete everything in there, (make a backup first of course!)

As to why they might be there in the first place have you signed into a work account to access emails/sharepoint etc? or done a work place join?! if so then you may have fallen under some intune policies.
 
Soldato
Joined
28 Sep 2008
Posts
13,926
Location
Britain
if it is group policy's they will be under the reg keys
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Policies
and
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\System\CurrentControlSet\Policies

to return to stock just delete everything in there, (make a backup first of course!)

As to why they might be there in the first place have you signed into a work account to access emails/sharepoint etc? or done a work place join?! if so then you may have fallen under some intune policies.

This isn't how GPOs work. GPOs effectively set registry keys throughout the system. Removing the policy folder isn't enough because the key values are still set until changed back. The policy folder is just a record of what they should be.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
8,021
Location
The Land of Roundabouts
Are you sure? I thought it took priority over the usual paths. If there was a setting there it would ignore the standard reg entry's.
Though thinking about it, yeah gpo do set registry settings directly as well...
 
Top Bottom