1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worcester Greenstar 32 CDi Compact + Hive unit (installation help pls)

Discussion in 'Home and Garden' started by maddness, Nov 18, 2018.

  1. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 13, 2003

    Posts: 5,799

    Location: Intel HQ

    Hi I have the Worcester Greenstar 32 CDi Compact with a Worcester Wave unit

    I want to change the Wave unit to a Hive, I can't seem to find any simple guides online

    any advice / help to install this would be appreciated

    the wiring panel looks like this:

    [​IMG]


    I assume that is where the wave is connected to (highlighted in red?)

    [​IMG]



    This is the closest diagram I can find online but not sure:

    [​IMG]

    any help would be appreciated, thanks
     
  2. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 13, 2003

    Posts: 5,799

    Location: Intel HQ

    Anyone :p
     
  3. the_dead_parrot

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,131

    Location: Bulkington

    The wave is connected to the EMS bus which the hive doesn't use.

    You need L & N from the orange plug with two white wires. They go to L & N on the hive receiver. Remove the white wire that goes to the yellow CH connection also.

    The yellow CH connection will go to 3 on the Hive receiver. Assuming it's the single channel version. You will also need to put a link on the hive receiver between L & 1.

    Any more info needed let me know.
     
  4. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 13, 2003

    Posts: 5,799

    Location: Intel HQ

    cheers i'll give it a go tomorrow

    thanks
     
  5. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 13, 2003

    Posts: 5,799

    Location: Intel HQ

    you're a legend mate, it worked perfectly

    really appreciate it, life is complete :D
     
  6. MikeB

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 23, 2006

    Posts: 1,433

    Doing the same now,, but I am going to the dual channel ( won't be using it for hot water)

    So l,n, and let ch Go to terminal 4

    [​IMG]

    Do I leave the white loop LRtap to the live
     
  7. FlyingFish

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 1, 2003

    Posts: 1,448

    Location: Derbyshire

    If you have the dual channel hive then why not use the hot water channel to control the WB preheat?

    Mick

    Oh and tidy that L connection up ;)
     
  8. MikeB

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 23, 2006

    Posts: 1,433

    Parrot many thanks, this is the only post on the internet that explained exactly what was needed.

    Would have to run more/different cable to loop in the hot water

    Working a treat, thanks all
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2018
  9. maddness

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 13, 2003

    Posts: 5,799

    Location: Intel HQ

    include some pics if you can to help the next person ;)