Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > CPUs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Jul 2011, 11:05   #1
An Exception
Soldato
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 6,281
Bulldozer performance figures are in

"The donanimhaber.com crew has run an engineering sample of AMD’s new FX-8130P through its paces and the results are very positive.

Although the chip fails to keep up with Intel cores in the SuperPI test, as we have already seen, it pulls ahead in other tests. For example, in x264 encoding tests, Bulldozer scores 136fps in the first pass and 45fps in the second pass, whereas the Core i7 2600K manages 100fps and 36fps respectively."

http://www.fudzilla.com/processors/i...figures-are-in
An Exception is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 11:07   #2
I fancy boys
Wise Guy
 
I fancy boys's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,441
as much as i'd love to believe this, its fudzilla.

Phenom X6 1055T ATI 4350 512Mb
Samsung spinpoint F1 1TB 4GB Patriot @ 1600
Gigabyte AM3-UD7 Ocz 600W PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 60GB Xonar D2X
I fancy boys is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 11:16   #3
Lelouch
Gangster
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Preston
Posts: 172
It's all rumours until it's official actual release.
Lelouch is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 12:05   #4
joeyjojo
Mobster
 
joeyjojo's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Oxford
Posts: 4,652
As above, if that X264 comparison is right, I'm very excited.

joeyjojo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 12:34   #5
DragonQ
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,848
Nice if it is true (not holding my breath). First-pass x264 isn't very multi-threaded so if Zambezi can outpace Sandy Bridge here, that'd be fantastic. No mention of clock speeds though so, really, these performance figures mean nothing.

Xeon X5650 @ 4.0 GHz, Noctua NH-U12P, Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Sapphire Radeon R9 270 (2 GB) @ 1000/1450 MHz
20 GB RAM @ 1600 MHz, NEC 24WGMX3 (1920x1200)
Dominator CM-690, Pioneer BDR-205, Crucial BX100 250 GB
DragonQ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 13:36   #6
Pickman
Gangster
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 274
The wait is becoming painful.
Pickman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 14:06   #7
drunkenmaster
Caporegime
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 29,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by I fancy boys View Post
as much as i'd love to believe this, its fudzilla.
No, it isn't, can people really not read.
drunkenmaster is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 14:14   #8
Cooper
Wise Guy
 
Cooper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,822
"In Cinebench R10 AMD’s new flagship pulls off a score of 24434"



Hmmm, i hope thats at stock speeds, because i can get nearly 12,000 with just 3 cores on my unlocked Phenom II 550 @3.8Ghz...otherwise, with 8 cores, i'm not impressed

System:Corsair 450D, Asus Maximus VII Z97 Hero, 4690K@4.5Ghz, 8GB Corsair Vengeance red 2600Mhz, Asus 970 Strix SLI, Sounblaster Z, x3 Corsair AF120 Red LED, x2 Corsair AF140 Red LED, 650W Superflower Gold.
Last edited by Cooper; 11th Jul 2011 at 14:16.
Cooper is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 14:35   #9
DragonQ
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooper View Post
"In Cinebench R10 AMD’s new flagship pulls off a score of 24434"



Hmmm, i hope thats at stock speeds, because i can get nearly 12,000 with just 3 cores on my unlocked Phenom II 550 @3.8Ghz...otherwise, with 8 cores, i'm not impressed
"Stock speeds" for an FX-81xx would be 4-4.2 GHz assuming Turbo Core is enabled.

Xeon X5650 @ 4.0 GHz, Noctua NH-U12P, Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Sapphire Radeon R9 270 (2 GB) @ 1000/1450 MHz
20 GB RAM @ 1600 MHz, NEC 24WGMX3 (1920x1200)
Dominator CM-690, Pioneer BDR-205, Crucial BX100 250 GB
DragonQ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 14:44   #10
Cooper
Wise Guy
 
Cooper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
"Stock speeds" for an FX-81xx would be 4-4.2 GHz assuming Turbo Core is enabled.
If thats the case, then thats even worse..., as when i meant 'stock speeds', i was thinkng 3.2Ghz...that has been said to be the stock speed.

http://www.techspot.com/news/44627-a...ked-early.html

"The site managed to get their hands on an engineering sample of AMD's forthcoming FX-8130P and ran it through a range of tests. The 8-core chip features 3.2GHz clock speeds"

System:Corsair 450D, Asus Maximus VII Z97 Hero, 4690K@4.5Ghz, 8GB Corsair Vengeance red 2600Mhz, Asus 970 Strix SLI, Sounblaster Z, x3 Corsair AF120 Red LED, x2 Corsair AF140 Red LED, 650W Superflower Gold.
Cooper is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 14:57   #11
panyan
Soldato
 
panyan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Bada Bing
Posts: 7,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooper View Post
If thats the case, then thats even worse..., as when i meant 'stock speeds', i was thinkng 3.2Ghz...that has been said to be the stock speed.

http://www.techspot.com/news/44627-a...ked-early.html

"The site managed to get their hands on an engineering sample of AMD's forthcoming FX-8130P and ran it through a range of tests. The 8-core chip features 3.2GHz clock speeds"
i think "stock" in this case means the chip has not been fiddled with to get better performance, not as in turbo or not turbo

panyan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 15:16   #12
Combat squirrel
Sgarrista
 
Combat squirrel's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,294
If it turns out to be between sandy and gulftown at less cost then I'll be happy. I was never expecting a miracle chip that was going to be 1000's of times faster.

Be Happy
Combat squirrel is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 16:11   #13
as905
Hitman
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Combat squirrel View Post
I was never expecting a miracle chip that was going to be 1000's of times faster.
or even 1 times faster.

i5 4670k Ultima 90 gskill 2x4GB mx100 256gb z97mx r9 270 be quiet 650w s23a700d prodigy m & psvita
as905 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 16:12   #14
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,223
I'm calling fake.
That Fritz benchmark, halfed would give you the 4 core result, as scaling is pretty 100% in Fritz, would give the 4 core a worse result than a Phenom II 955.
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 16:30   #15
DragonQ
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooper View Post
If thats the case, then thats even worse..., as when i meant 'stock speeds', i was thinkng 3.2Ghz...that has been said to be the stock speed.

http://www.techspot.com/news/44627-a...ked-early.html

"The site managed to get their hands on an engineering sample of AMD's forthcoming FX-8130P and ran it through a range of tests. The 8-core chip features 3.2GHz clock speeds"
Ah well maybe it was 3.2 GHz then. Engineering samples are often at lower clock speeds than the final result.

Xeon X5650 @ 4.0 GHz, Noctua NH-U12P, Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Sapphire Radeon R9 270 (2 GB) @ 1000/1450 MHz
20 GB RAM @ 1600 MHz, NEC 24WGMX3 (1920x1200)
Dominator CM-690, Pioneer BDR-205, Crucial BX100 250 GB
DragonQ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 16:32   #16
Owenb
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martini1991 View Post
I'm calling fake.
That Fritz benchmark, halfed would give you the 4 core result, as scaling is pretty 100% in Fritz, would give the 4 core a worse result than a Phenom II 955.
2 BD cores share fetch&decode hardware so depending on the app they will take a hit if both cores on a single module are active.
Owenb is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 16:32   #17
MrElve
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Grimsby, Lincolnshire.
Posts: 663
186W TDP? Blimey.
MrElve is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 16:35   #18
Owenb
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrElve View Post
186W TDP? Blimey.
That's just an error with CPU-Z. 125W TDP is the max for the highest BD CPU.
Owenb is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 17:31   #19
nalla
Hitman
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 936
Quote:
Although the chip fails to keep up with Intel cores in the SuperPI test, as we have already seen, it pulls ahead in other tests. For example, in x264 encoding tests, Bulldozer scores 136fps in the first pass and 45fps in the second pass, whereas the Core i7 2600K manages 100fps and 36fps respectively."
9 fps more on the second pass, isnt that much really being as it has twice as many cores, would have to be cheap to compete.
nalla is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 17:47   #20
Jokester
Don
 
Jokester's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 34,055
So it's a 1/3 faster give or take than a 2600K in the multithreaded stuff, now the 2600K runs 8 threads with HT which very roughly equates to a 50% boost over 4 threads only. So it's roughly the same speed thread per (non HT) thread on the 2600K. If the BD is running 4.2GHz and the SB presumably 3.8GHz it's not that far away clock for clock for single threaded performance.

There is someone here who laughs too hard at everything
Jokester is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 17:54   #21
Justintime
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Edmonton, London, UK
Posts: 8,558
Looking decent.. high hopes for AMD!

(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <) fap fap fap
Justintime is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 17:54   #22
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokester View Post
So it's a 1/3 faster give or take than a 2600K in the multithreaded stuff, now the 2600K runs 8 threads with HT which very roughly equates to a 50% boost over 4 threads only. So it's roughly the same speed thread per (non HT) thread on the 2600K. If the BD is running 4.2GHz and the SB presumably 3.8GHz it's not that far away clock for clock for single threaded performance.
No where near 50% increase, how the hell you came up with that, I'm bemused.Compare the 2500k and the 2600k at the same clocks.
Hyperthreading each generation will become less and less due to efficeny being better in core performance.

I don't know how you've managed to gauge it to being close to SB clock for clock, the Fritz results have it on par with Deneb.
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 17:57   #23
CAT-THE-FIFTH
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 12,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martini1991 View Post
I don't know how you've managed to gauge it to being close to SB clock for clock, the Fritz results have it on par with Deneb.
Which means nothing in lightly threaded applications due to the resource sharing of each module. None of these results gives any indication of lightly threaded performance.

The first pass video encoding results are 36% higher than the Core i7 2600k indicating that lightly threaded performance is higher.
Last edited by CAT-THE-FIFTH; 11th Jul 2011 at 18:02.
CAT-THE-FIFTH is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 18:00   #24
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAT-THE-FIFTH View Post
Which means nothing in lightly threaded applications due to the resource sharing of each module. None of these results give any indication of lightly threaded performance.

The first pass video encoding results are 36% higher than the Core i7 2600k indicating that lightly threaded performance is higher.
Which is promising.

BD looks like it's either going to be good in an app, or terrible.
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 18:19   #25
Final8y
Capodecina
 
Final8y's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: London, Ealing
Posts: 12,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martini1991 View Post
Which is promising.

BD looks like it's either going to be good in an app, or terrible.
What apps will it be terrible at ?


AX1500i+AX1200 PSU,3x290, FX9590@5142Mhz, 4960x1600PLP NEC
Final8y is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 18:31   #26
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Final8y View Post
What apps will it be terrible at ?
Well, Fritz ?
If what people say about when all cores being loaded, it taking a performance hit, rendering etc would be affected?

That's assuming that benchmark is legit.
Last edited by Martini1991; 11th Jul 2011 at 18:36.
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 18:45   #27
DragonQ
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokester View Post
So it's a 1/3 faster give or take than a 2600K in the multithreaded stuff, now the 2600K runs 8 threads with HT which very roughly equates to a 50% boost over 4 threads only. So it's roughly the same speed thread per (non HT) thread on the 2600K. If the BD is running 4.2GHz and the SB presumably 3.8GHz it's not that far away clock for clock for single threaded performance.
Nope, typically 25%. x264 takes good advantage of HyperThreading but still only manages a 25-30% performance increase. x264 presumably hasn't been optimised for Bulldozer yet but it probably can be.

So in this comparison, an i7-2600K without HyperThreading would get about 77 fps, making 4 Bulldozer modules (8 Zambezi cores) 77% faster than 4 Sandy Bridge cores. Much better than the 30% boost provided by HyperThreading and in the same die space (IIRC).

However, as I said before, there's no clock information here so these numbers are worthless.


Personally I will be going Zambezi if it is able to run my specific code (just about) as fast as Sandy Bridge. I suspect it will be close but we'll see. AVX implementation might be important, plus I'd be using an Intel compiler so that might affect things.

Xeon X5650 @ 4.0 GHz, Noctua NH-U12P, Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Sapphire Radeon R9 270 (2 GB) @ 1000/1450 MHz
20 GB RAM @ 1600 MHz, NEC 24WGMX3 (1920x1200)
Dominator CM-690, Pioneer BDR-205, Crucial BX100 250 GB
Last edited by DragonQ; 11th Jul 2011 at 18:48.
DragonQ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 18:46   #28
Final8y
Capodecina
 
Final8y's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: London, Ealing
Posts: 12,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martini1991 View Post
Well, Fritz ?
If what people say about when all cores being loaded, it taking a performance hit, rendering etc would be affected?
So because of Fritz the same will go for every program that loads all the cores & that has been confirmed with the simple task of running other apps that loads all the cores ?


AX1500i+AX1200 PSU,3x290, FX9590@5142Mhz, 4960x1600PLP NEC
Last edited by Final8y; 11th Jul 2011 at 18:54.
Final8y is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 18:59   #29
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Final8y View Post
So because of Fritz the same will go for every program that loads all the cores & that has been confirmed with the simple task of running other apps that loads all the cores ?
I don't know?
If the logic applied, is when all cores are loaded, it would do so regardless of app?
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2011, 19:24   #30
Final8y
Capodecina
 
Final8y's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: London, Ealing
Posts: 12,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martini1991 View Post
I don't know?
If the logic applied, is when all cores are loaded, it would do so regardless of app?
Only if it was the fact its because of all cores being loaded & not an issue with BD & Fritz & that can not be known without running other full loading apps & that's what they should of done as soon as they noticed strange behaviour.


AX1500i+AX1200 PSU,3x290, FX9590@5142Mhz, 4960x1600PLP NEC
Last edited by Final8y; 11th Jul 2011 at 19:31.
Final8y is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:04.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)