Spec me a sandybridge upgrade!

Associate
I know there are a million and one build threads, but I need a little help please.

My PC is currently doing my nut in with its annoying issues (cold and warm boot issues, constant BF4 crashes with my HD7970 etc.). I bought this PC second hand a few years ago so was not responsible for the build, other than adding a so called better GPU! I have done all I can to remedy this but the issues are so random! So, I am using this as an excuse to build a new machine :)

I do not have a budget, but I am not made of money. I will get a 1070 for the GPU as 1080 is too much for me to justify right now! I want this build for gaming and will not be using a res greater (for the time being) of more than 1440. 1080p now but will get a new monitor soon too.

I have a have decent cooler master case I will probably keep (but offer me a good suggestion anyway) and HDD/SSD's etc. Therefore, I am looking for help with:

Case (tower)
Motherboard
RAM (16 gig?)
CPU/COOLER (quiet)
GPU choice (of the 1070 options)
Maybe new PSU as I am not sure to trust this one!

cheers in advance.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
no budget in mind, just decent stuff. I don't want stuff for the sake of no budget though. So, if a 40 quid cooler does a great job then I do not want an £80 quid cooler, for example. I do like to overclock though but will only use one GPU too.

Associate
Just thought it might help that's all. I can see people having fun with this. :p

I'll let somebody else take it from here I'm not great at putting systems together. ;)

Soldato
My basket at Overclockers UK:

Total: £954.83
(includes shipping: £0.00)

Soldato
Is BF4 crashing on start up? The last few AMD drivers have broken mantle on BF4 so stop using it if you are.

Thought Id say in case it helps you out.

Associate
OP