Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Motherboards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th Feb 2006, 00:56   #1
mdjmcnally
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,598
A8R32-MVP what is it

Found this motherboard on another site showing as in stock. Also showing A8R-MVP as in stock so not a standard RD480 board I am guessing. Didn't think the RD580 was out yet so not sure.

Anybody any idea's what it migh be?
mdjmcnally is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2006, 06:13   #2
ACESHIGH
Mobster
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,307
The A8R32-MVP should have new RD580 chipset (Xpress 3200 Crossfire).
With USB 2,0/Gb LAN/SATA II RAID ē 2x PCIe x16, 1x PCIe x1, 3x PCI on the board.

Core 2 Duo E6700 +
Gainward ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB plus some other bits
Last edited by ACESHIGH; 12th Feb 2006 at 06:16.
ACESHIGH is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2006, 21:36   #3
Steve JL
Gangster
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 348
Smile

Well I think I have found it at the same retailer and as I have to go up near there in the morning I will pop in and see if they have stock and if they do I may throw some money down and grab one lol.

Not back in London till wednesday but will connect through the mobile and pda and post tomorrow night hopefully

Steve
Steve JL is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2006, 23:22   #4
LoadsaMoney
Capodecina
 
LoadsaMoney's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: In a house
Posts: 21,735
Nice one, been waiting for this board, hope the reports are good.


i7 5930K - ASUS X99-A - 16GB Corsair 2800MHz - Fury Tri-X OC (x2)
LoadsaMoney is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2006, 08:14   #5
lordedmond
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Tilchestune
Posts: 1,582
this is very odd, yes they say they have stock but there is no mention on asus site ?


My mate Baldrick has a cunning plan
lordedmond is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2006, 08:58   #6
Gibbo
Commissario
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 23,067
Hi there

I'd imagine its just the RD480 A8R-MVP and they have mis-labelled it.

As ATI have not even sent out press samples of their own boards yet, so I very much doubt Asus would have managed to have even start production themselves yet. Were looking around mid March for RD580 boards.....

Gibbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2006, 08:58   #7
andyr
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Stoke
Posts: 1,862
I have been waiting for this aswell

Gigabyte P67A-UD7,i7-2600K,8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-14900 1866MHz RipjawsX, Samsung 850EVO 500GB,Pioneer BD-RWBDR-203,Corsair 850W,Win 10 64bit,RX 480 gfx,Asus MG279Q
andyr is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2006, 13:38   #8
S_D
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 334
Don't forget guys that RD580 is still just the northbridge, so you'll likely have the same choice of SB450 ATI southbridge or ULI 1573 and 1575. If you're waiting for the better ATI southbridge then SB600 should be along a couple of months later...

Simon.

Lian-Li PC-7H X | Asus Z87 Pro | 4790K @4.7 | Noctua NH-U14S | EVGA 1080 SC | 16GB G-Skill DDR3 2400 | Creative Labs ZXR
S_D is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2006, 19:10   #9
andyr
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Stoke
Posts: 1,862
{Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe }
Any more news on this board or is it just too good to be true,
I hope not

Gigabyte P67A-UD7,i7-2600K,8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-14900 1866MHz RipjawsX, Samsung 850EVO 500GB,Pioneer BD-RWBDR-203,Corsair 850W,Win 10 64bit,RX 480 gfx,Asus MG279Q
andyr is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2006, 21:06   #10
Steve JL
Gangster
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 348
Got my dates mixed up will be there in the morning.Hopefully have an update for you all then.
I checked the Asus site as well and saw no mention on there.
Will save me some money if its a mistake lol.
Steve
Steve JL is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2006, 21:15   #11
Otaku Punk
Gangster
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 150
*double post, sorry!*
Otaku Punk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2006, 21:15   #12
Otaku Punk
Gangster
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 150
Is the new RD580 chipset for socket 939 or AM2?
Otaku Punk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2006, 21:19   #13
andyr
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Stoke
Posts: 1,862
saw a picture on a Japanese website along with an Ati one "defo RD580 ", just googled it , couldnt understand a word of it though , ordered one anyway will let you know tomorrow , might end up selling my 1800's and getting those 7800's if its all a hoax , lol

Gigabyte P67A-UD7,i7-2600K,8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-14900 1866MHz RipjawsX, Samsung 850EVO 500GB,Pioneer BD-RWBDR-203,Corsair 850W,Win 10 64bit,RX 480 gfx,Asus MG279Q
Last edited by andyr; 14th Feb 2006 at 06:58.
andyr is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 12:45   #14
andyr
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Stoke
Posts: 1,862
i have one

Gigabyte P67A-UD7,i7-2600K,8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-14900 1866MHz RipjawsX, Samsung 850EVO 500GB,Pioneer BD-RWBDR-203,Corsair 850W,Win 10 64bit,RX 480 gfx,Asus MG279Q
andyr is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 13:31   #15
S_D
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyr
i have one
For gawd's sake, don't leave it at that man! More, more!

Lian-Li PC-7H X | Asus Z87 Pro | 4790K @4.7 | Noctua NH-U14S | EVGA 1080 SC | 16GB G-Skill DDR3 2400 | Creative Labs ZXR
S_D is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 13:43   #16
andyh
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 276
I need to know more to. I am trying to cost up a new pc so any cost details, specs would be great. I have no idea where you got it from as I cannot find any uk site selling them but I hope others retailers including OCUK will have them soon.
Last edited by andyh; 14th Feb 2006 at 13:57.
andyh is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 14:07   #17
Zen8
Gangster
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 286
What extra does the RD580 bring to the table? It had better improve on the A8R-MVP, for which I've seen very mixed feedback on.
Zen8 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 14:18   #18
andyr
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Stoke
Posts: 1,862
Hi , sorry for the suspense i cant say how much ect as i like coming to the forum i havnt built it yet , cant until Thursday but will post back Thursday night with some benchies.If all goes well , it will be with 2 times 1800 Xt's


Gigabyte P67A-UD7,i7-2600K,8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-14900 1866MHz RipjawsX, Samsung 850EVO 500GB,Pioneer BD-RWBDR-203,Corsair 850W,Win 10 64bit,RX 480 gfx,Asus MG279Q
andyr is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 14:44   #19
FirebarUK
Soldato
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Dorset
Posts: 5,436
Looks good, this board is quite widely available.
FirebarUK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 15:33   #20
andyh
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 276
Is it common for mobo's to be launched without any reference to them on the manufacturers site?
andyh is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 15:53   #21
FirebarUK
Soldato
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Dorset
Posts: 5,436
Wouldn't be the first time Asus are very good at it.
FirebarUK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 16:32   #22
Vogon
Mobster
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,850
Isn't that just a 2x16 pci-e version of the current Asus board, or can you for sure determine it has the RD580 chipset ?


*Edit*

A quick look around has this as RD580 chipset with the same ULi SB as on the current Asus board.
Last edited by Vogon; 14th Feb 2006 at 16:41.
Vogon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 16:33   #23
Dr Who
Soldato
 
Dr Who's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Street (Somerset)
Posts: 7,490
mmmm want one... if the USB works without crashing the system, unlike my A8R-MVP


Opinions are like backsides,
everyone has one,
no need to hear it,and only others stink!
Check out My ZX12R powered 7 Build Diary on my homepage
Dr Who is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 16:37   #24
Dr Who
Soldato
 
Dr Who's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Street (Somerset)
Posts: 7,490
Manufacturer: Asustek ASUS

Form Factor: ATX

CPU Socket: AMD Athlon 64 Socket 939

FSB Speed: 2000 MHz

Chipset: ULi M1575

Memory Type: DDR ECC/Non-ECC Registered

Memory Speed: PC2100 (266)
PC2700 (333)
PC3200 (400)


Memory Capacity: 4GB

On Board VGA: n

Graphics Interface:

SLI: n

Crossfire: y

Expansion Slots: 3 x PCI (32 bit)
1 x PCI-Express (x1)
2 x PCI-Express (x16 Graphics)


SATA: SATA I / II

RAID: SATA RAID

RAID Controller: Silicon Image 3132 Controller


SCSI: n

Back Panel: 2 x 10/100/1000 (LAN)
1 x Coaxial (Phono)
1 x Line In
1 x Line Out
1 x Mic In
1 x Midi/Game
1 x Parallel (LPT)
1 x PS/2 Keyboard
1 x PS/2 Mouse
1 x SATA
1 x SPDIF-Out
4 x USB 2.0/1.1


Internal I/O: 1 x 24pin (V)
1 x 4pin (V)
1 x CD-In
1 x Fan Header (V)
1 x Floppy
2 x IDE
2 x IEEE1394
4 x Memory Slots
5 x SATA II
1 x Serial (COM)
2 x USB2.0/1.1


Unique Feature: Ai *** (Non delay Overclocking Feature) - Asus EZ Flash - Q-Fan2 Techology - + Many More ..

Looks like another dog... lol it starred out AI (N O S) Let us know if it will run with USB enabled with an Ipod attached without crashing wont you...


Opinions are like backsides,
everyone has one,
no need to hear it,and only others stink!
Check out My ZX12R powered 7 Build Diary on my homepage
Dr Who is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 17:59   #25
andyr
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Stoke
Posts: 1,862
lol , i havenít got an ipod , but i will post back , i was going to swap with my bros my dfi for his standard A8R this week but when this appeared i couldnít resist as I am committed to crossfire so I thought might as well part with some more cash. The one thing with asus is that they will stick at the bios untill its as good as it can be

Gigabyte P67A-UD7,i7-2600K,8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-14900 1866MHz RipjawsX, Samsung 850EVO 500GB,Pioneer BD-RWBDR-203,Corsair 850W,Win 10 64bit,RX 480 gfx,Asus MG279Q
andyr is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 18:06   #26
lordedmond
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Tilchestune
Posts: 1,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyr
lol , i havenít got an ipod , but i will post back , i was going to swap with my bros my dfi for his standard A8R this week but when this appeared i couldnít resist as I am committed to crossfire so I thought might as well part with some more cash. The one thing with asus is that they will stick at the bios untill its as good as it can be
that why the 402 bios for the a8r-mvp keeps getting removed from thier site and then reposted , i have a a8r-mvp but i am beginng to think that ASUS have it round there neck usb 2 dont work irq conflicts and unstable voltages, I am in the rethink stage regards this mobo

i hope you have better luck with your new variety


My mate Baldrick has a cunning plan
lordedmond is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 18:15   #27
andyr
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Stoke
Posts: 1,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordedmond
that why the 402 bios for the a8r-mvp keeps getting removed from thier site and then reposted , i have a a8r-mvp but i am beginng to think that ASUS have it round there neck usb 2 dont work irq conflicts and unstable voltages, I am in the rethink stage regards this mobo

i hope you have better luck with your new variety
thanks for that, ill let you know how it goes , id do it now only I got some surgery to do with my case and rad ,
my bros flashed with 402 the other night and he seems more pleased , stable and all and he does loads of video editing and usb stuff so I am surprised he aint complained

Gigabyte P67A-UD7,i7-2600K,8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-14900 1866MHz RipjawsX, Samsung 850EVO 500GB,Pioneer BD-RWBDR-203,Corsair 850W,Win 10 64bit,RX 480 gfx,Asus MG279Q
andyr is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 19:03   #28
Dr Who
Soldato
 
Dr Who's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Street (Somerset)
Posts: 7,490
The 390 was just as bad...

402 was no improvement, but its still on Asus's website, depending on which site you go to...



Don't get me wrong tho, apart from USB the only other issue is IRQ sharing excessively..

It still rox


Opinions are like backsides,
everyone has one,
no need to hear it,and only others stink!
Check out My ZX12R powered 7 Build Diary on my homepage
Dr Who is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 19:40   #29
Sumanji
Sgarrista
 
Sumanji's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,817
Is it me or has the RD580 not yet been released officially...

Suman

Sumanji is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2006, 19:40   #30
Vogon
Mobster
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,850
I actually have 6 USB devices (one a 4 way hub on the monitor with two further devices on it) and don't have any USB issues on shipping, 309 or 402 bios.

My problems were general instability, I flashed to the 402 bios and got warm boot issues, then tried the 309 and got cold boot issues.

I then re-flashed the 402 and its been solid ever since, so try flashing 309 and then flashing 402 and see if that helps you any

Yes Suman, its officially not released, I think the supplier made a mistake in shipping the boards as its now listed as not yet available
Last edited by Vogon; 14th Feb 2006 at 19:43.
Vogon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:55.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)