Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Storage Drives

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th May 2012, 21:28   #1
Smoogels
Wise Guy
 
Smoogels's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 1,573
Best 'value' SSD?

I want a SSD simply to slap Windows on and some small software I use a lot. 60GB should be fine as I wouldent mind cleaning away the old / useless files from it and I have a 1TB HDD for storage.

However, my question is - what SSD is considered the best? I have been looking at Corsair ones but I'm not sure as Crucial is another well known brand. Maybe the OCZ Agility would be nice too?

Thanks in advance
Smoogels is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2012, 21:37   #2
Justintime
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Edmonton, London, UK
Posts: 8,488
M4 would be the likely candidate, based purely on price the Sandisk atm is great http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=HD-004-SD but i can't say how reliable just yet.

(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <) fap fap fap
Justintime is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2012, 22:02   #3
~Divine~Wind~
Underboss
 
~Divine~Wind~'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Newcastle U/T
Posts: 14,320
M4 and Sandisk tbh keep an eye on the prices too.
I've opted for a Sandisk Extreme, had a bit credit left elsewhere so ended up paying 35 for a 120Gb one

Not even installed it yet and Im tempted to grab a 240Gb too lol

~Divine~Wind~ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2012, 05:55   #4
passey89
Mobster
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Rugeley
Posts: 3,549
M4 128GB only 90 ish now.

I7 5820K |Gigabyte X99 SLI | 16GB 2400mhz DDR4 | Samsung 850 500gb ssd | Zotac 980ti Amp| H440 Razer | Naga Epic Chroma | Blackwidow Chroma | Firefly Chroma | Acer 28" 4K | Acer 22" 1080 | h440 razer
passey89 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2012, 06:35   #5
Smoogels
Wise Guy
 
Smoogels's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 1,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by passey89 View Post
M4 128GB only 90 ish now.
Sadly I can't afford that, I can only just squeeze a 60GB in and I'm sure it would be enough for my needs.

As far as SSDs go I don't fancy a Sandisk and rather go for a more popular choice.

I am leaning towards the M4 Cruical and almost all its reviews on the net says it's pretty nice. Any thoughts on the OCZ though? It's a little cheaper but I wouldent mind investing a bit more into the M4 if its going to give more reliabilty.
Smoogels is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2012, 20:28   #6
Justintime
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Edmonton, London, UK
Posts: 8,488
M4 is definetly more reliable, however any new Agility from a supplier with decent stock turnover will ship with the latest firmware which is more or less bullet proof.

(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <) fap fap fap
Justintime is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2012, 21:12   #7
AllBodies
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Brighton
Posts: 251
The Crucial m4 will have the best windows load and application load speed within your budget. Also you get that extra 4GB (wooooooo!)
AllBodies is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2012, 22:23   #8
SlugForAButt
Wise Guy
 
SlugForAButt's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: God's own country
Posts: 2,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllBodies View Post
The Crucial m4 will have the best windows load and application load speed within your budget.
Proof plz?

Post count means nothing.
SlugForAButt is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2012, 23:00   #9
craarc
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,881
minimum 128 preferably 256 for the sweetspot.

really i know u want an ssd but at that size as soon as you get it you will wish for bigger, 128 is minimum and even that is pushing it.. really

best wait untill the pennies are in the bank and get a bigger one..


still atm tho m4 is the way to go i beleive

will add.................... all i use mine for (256) is op sys and 2 games and a couple games related programs 60 gb is too small really i would recomend waiting a bit and put it in the bank under ssd fund untill u can get a bigger one ..

Last edited by craarc; 18th May 2012 at 23:02.
craarc is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2012, 06:22   #10
Ben Cole
Wise Guy
 
Ben Cole's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Porthcawl and Southampton
Posts: 2,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by craarc View Post
minimum 128 preferably 256 for the sweetspot.

really i know u want an ssd but at that size as soon as you get it you will wish for bigger, 128 is minimum and even that is pushing it.. really

best wait untill the pennies are in the bank and get a bigger one..
That's just not true though is it.

I've got a 30Gb OCZ Agility with Windows 7 Ultimate installed on the SFF media PC in my lounge. Not once have I wished I had a bigger drive.

I have a 60Gb OCZ Vertex 2 in my Windows laptop. Again, never an issue.

60Gb OCZ Agility 3 in my i5 desktop.....no issue.

The only bigger one I have is 128Gb Crucial M4 in my Macbook. The only reason I wanted bigger was to dual boot with Windows.

I store all my documents and media on NAS.

You may well be right that the OP might need more, I'm sure lots of people have been tempted by the speeds to buy less than they really needed but he's the only one that can really judge.

Ben (Too scared of breaking rules to have a sig.)
Ben Cole is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2012, 08:05   #11
Dervious
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Brum
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Cole View Post
That's just not true though is it.
I agree, it's not true that 128gb or more is the minimum.

I`ve built a few "office" PCs with Crucial M4 64gb SSDs. Absolutely no problem fitting Win 7, Updates, Antivirus, Office suite etc onto the drive. There's around 35Gb left after all the "main" stuff is installed. 1Tb HHDs make people lazy. It's like having a large shed, there is always the temptation to fill it with rubbish. 35Gb is still a lot of space, unless you are storing lots of photos or apps.
Dervious is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2012, 08:14   #12
Smoogels
Wise Guy
 
Smoogels's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 1,573
Thanks all. I think I will go with the Cruical M4 as it's clearly the popular choice here.

As for the space, 60GB is fine. I'm only going to put Windows on it, anti virus and a web browser there. Maybe photoshop to. I'm not that much of a gamer so I will just put them on my 1TB drive.

Thanks again for all the suggestions.
Smoogels is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2012, 21:19   #13
AllBodies
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Brighton
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlugForAButt View Post
Proof plz?
Source: http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/storag...-512gb/?page=8

That particular page as window's loading, application start, and gaming read speeds. And for all notable current drives I believe
AllBodies is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2012, 08:15   #14
charlaph
Gangster
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 100
Get the M4, then when you've saved a bit more add another and raid then. More space, more speed and the only downside is the hassle of setting it up, imaging your drive etc...at currrent prices it'd be datf not to jump in.
charlaph is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 08:13   #15
Smoogels
Wise Guy
 
Smoogels's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 1,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlaph View Post
Get the M4, then when you've saved a bit more add another and raid then. More space, more speed and the only downside is the hassle of setting it up, imaging your drive etc...at currrent prices it'd be datf not to jump in.
Indeed. I am going to grab myself the M4 on Monday
Smoogels is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 08:26   #16
S2KIP
Capodecina
 
S2KIP's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 15,489
I couldn't live with 60GB. I had a 128GB M4 but I was forever space managing and it was doing my head in, this is with hibernate disabled and no swap file. Whenever a new game came out, I'd have to figure which one to take off. I've got a 256GB one in there now, so much better and I'm still tempted to go for a 512GB one when prices come down further (fingers crossed!).

'06 S2000.
S2KIP is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 08:29   #17
Smoogels
Wise Guy
 
Smoogels's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 1,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilanoChris View Post
I couldn't live with 60GB. I had a 128GB M4 but I was forever space managing and it was doing my head in, this is with hibernate disabled and no swap file. Whenever a new game came out, I'd have to figure which one to take off. I've got a 256GB one in there now, so much better and I'm still tempted to go for a 512GB one when prices come down further (fingers crossed!).
Not sure how it can be so messy:P I currently have my 1TB HDD partitioned so C drive is 80GB while the D is the rest. My C drive is barely ever full. Games do take a lot of space now though. My Wow folder is 22GB :O
Smoogels is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 08:38   #18
S2KIP
Capodecina
 
S2KIP's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 15,489
You've answered your own question - games.

'06 S2000.
S2KIP is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 09:59   #19
MOOGLEYS
Capodecina
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Telford
Posts: 13,481
I have two 60GB OCZ Agilty 3 drives. One as a boot drive and the other Caching a 2TB games drive. It's the best setup I have tried and gives superb performance for desktop use and games without costing the earth.

MOOGLEYS is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 10:15   #20
SeeKified
Hitman
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 773
I've got a Corsair Force GT 60GB which is brilliant. I have Windows 7, Adobe CS5 and a bunch of other stuff on there and I still have ~18GB free.

I realise it's not a budget drive though. I'd go for the Corsair Force 3, which is pretty much 1/GB. Personally I don't trust OCZ and the SanDisk Ultra is just not very good.

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 + Corsair H60 MB: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Graphics: Sapphire HD5850 Extreme CF RAM: Corsair XMS3 PC3-12800C9 8GB (4x2GB) SSD: Corsair Force GT 60GB PSU: Corsair AX750 Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium NAS: Synology DS212j
SeeKified is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2012, 20:52
Paradoxine
This message has been deleted by Jokester.
Old 22nd May 2012, 18:56
Amraam
This message has been deleted by Jokester.
Old 22nd May 2012, 20:22
MOOGLEYS
This message has been deleted by Jokester.
Old 22nd May 2012, 20:28   #21
Amraam
Mobster
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOOGLEYS View Post
Have you considered drive caching it works very well.... ? You could cache a 60GB ssd to your 1TB drive as you have a Z68 motherboard.
I'm not too familiar with this. What are the benefits?

Is it something for the OS drive, or will it speed up reading and writing of documents etc?

| i5 2500k @4.4Ghz + Corsair H60 | 16GB Corsair PC3-12800 RAM | AsRock Z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3 | EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW | Samsung 830 256GB | Samsung 830D 240GB SSD + Hitachi 1TB | Corsair HX620W | Soundblaster Zx + Logitech Z5400THX 5.1 | LG 32LD450 HDTV | G500 + K70 Red |
Last edited by Amraam; 22nd May 2012 at 20:30.
Amraam is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2012, 20:32   #22
deshepherd
Hitman
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dervious View Post
I agree, it's not true that 128gb or more is the minimum.

I`ve built a few "office" PCs with Crucial M4 64gb SSDs. Absolutely no problem fitting Win 7, Updates, Antivirus, Office suite etc onto the drive. There's around 35Gb left after all the "main" stuff is installed. 1Tb HHDs make people lazy. It's like having a large shed, there is always the temptation to fill it with rubbish. 35Gb is still a lot of space, unless you are storing lots of photos or apps.
Yes, I tend to keep a seperate partition of windows and as far as I'm concerned could manage fine with something like a 30GB partition for win7 ... however my two sons seem to insist on choosing a new name everytime they save games (FIFA manager being the prime culprit) and have the ability to fill that partition however much I expand it (other day I increased it size by 15GB as I needed that space to do a run with PCMark .... couple of weeks later there's only 5GB space left!) ... anyway, must sort out moving there user dirs (where all this stuff gets saved) onto another partition where there's more space!
deshepherd is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2012, 20:33   #23
MOOGLEYS
Capodecina
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Telford
Posts: 13,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amraam View Post
I'm not too familiar with this. What are the benefits?
About %90 the speed of the SSD but with the space of a large drive like your 1TB....

I use a 60GB Agility 3 as a boot drive and then have another one caching a 2TB games drive and it works remarkably well.

Its called Intel Smart Response Technology and here is a link to a review.

IRST review

Intel aimed it to be used to cache a boot drive but it can be configured to cache a different drive as well. It can take some setting up but is well worth the effort as you will essentially end up with a 1TB drive running at about %90 the performance of a standalone SSD.

Last edited by MOOGLEYS; 22nd May 2012 at 20:37.
MOOGLEYS is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2012, 20:36   #24
Amraam
Mobster
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOOGLEYS View Post
About %90 the speed of the SSD but with the space of a large drive like your 1TB....

I use a 60GB Agility 3 as a boot drive and then have another one caching a 2TB games drive and it works remarkably well.

Its called Intel Smart Response Technology and here is a link that explains it from intel. A google search of Intel IRST should bring up some reviews.

Intel IRST

Intel aimed it to be used to cache a boot drive but it can be configured to cache a different drive as well. It can take some setting up but is well worth the effort as you will essentially end up with a 1TB drive running at about %90 the performance of a standalone SSD.
Yeah just been reading up on it. Not sure I see the benefit of SSD caching for movies/music drive however.

| i5 2500k @4.4Ghz + Corsair H60 | 16GB Corsair PC3-12800 RAM | AsRock Z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3 | EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW | Samsung 830 256GB | Samsung 830D 240GB SSD + Hitachi 1TB | Corsair HX620W | Soundblaster Zx + Logitech Z5400THX 5.1 | LG 32LD450 HDTV | G500 + K70 Red |
Amraam is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2012, 20:42   #25
MOOGLEYS
Capodecina
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Telford
Posts: 13,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amraam View Post
Yeah just been reading up on it. Not sure I see the benefit of SSD caching for movies/music drive however.
No real benefit for a media drive. I see quite a difference in using it on my games drive. It gives a decent increase in performance comparable to an SSD but without the size issues and expense of a large SSD. For me with around a 1.5TB game drive it works wonders...

Last edited by MOOGLEYS; 22nd May 2012 at 20:46.
MOOGLEYS is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2012, 22:49   #26
Amraam
Mobster
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,614
What's with out messages being deleted?!

| i5 2500k @4.4Ghz + Corsair H60 | 16GB Corsair PC3-12800 RAM | AsRock Z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3 | EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW | Samsung 830 256GB | Samsung 830D 240GB SSD + Hitachi 1TB | Corsair HX620W | Soundblaster Zx + Logitech Z5400THX 5.1 | LG 32LD450 HDTV | G500 + K70 Red |
Amraam is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2012, 05:39   #27
S2KIP
Capodecina
 
S2KIP's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 15,489
Probably because you broke the rules.

'06 S2000.
S2KIP is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:59.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)