Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Overclocking & Cooling > Ask 8 Pack

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th Jan 2013, 13:08   #1
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
X79 Overclocking Guide

As asked for I have put together a brief but hopefully useful overclocking guide for X79 systems.

Firstly lets explain the straps used on X79. Basically there are two usable straps on X79 in the majority of cases. These are the 100 Strap and 125 Strap. If your CPU is on the 100 Strap then BLK directly correlates to bus speed. If your on the 125 strap then BLK will be 125 and bus speed will be 100 thus a divider of 1.25 is applied. So for any given BLK on the 125 strap you must divide the value by 1.25 to give your bus speed. e.g 131 BLK = 105 Bus speed. In all cases CPU frequency is given by multiplier x BLK.

Each strap comes with its own set of memory frequency's also. This must be figured into the equation with any overclocking. The 100 Bus has the usable 1333,1600, 1866,2133 and 2400 memory option while 125 has 1333, 1666,2000,2333mhz usable. So you have 2400mhz memory you can reach that speed using 100 BLK on the 100 strap or using 128.625 BLK on the 125 strap.

This gives flexibility to the end user in terms of CPU, Bus and Memory overclocking.

Lets look at some settings in Bios:



Multiplier set at 40, BLK 100 gives 4ghz. On the 125 strap 40 multi would give 5ghz.

The two interesting options on this first page are Clock Gen full reset and Clock Gen filter. Clock Gen full reset should be set to enable at all times so as when BLK is changed the memory is trained to the changed frequency. This helps alot with stability. If your benching cold where your CPU has cold bug I would disable this option so the system does not retrain DRAM on blk changes and thus boots with cold bugged IMC.

Clock gen filter helps with high RAM speed clocking and should be set to 10 uf or 20uf for speeds around 2000 - 2400mhz+. This helps with stability as it filters the signal into the RAM when at high frequency. It should be at enable for lower speeds and disable if you mange to get a CPU which boots on the 166 strap.

Xtreme Tweaking gives a touch more DRAM performance so I leave it enabled. I have never noticed a negative impact on stability either with it on.

Further Down the Xtreme Tweaker we see the options for setting voltages:



Always leave Xtreme OV as disabled as even on the cold it need not be switched on and voltage selection is plentiful. Its a good safety measure too for not instantly killing your CPU.

A setting of BLK skew -2 and PCI Ex CLK skew of -20 helps with stability on this format. For cold use -3 and -30 especially with higher BLK. Experiment with these settings -1 and -10 can also work well.

VTT Voltage is the voltage supplied to the PCI EX lanes controller and interconnecting section within the CPU. This setting helps with both DRAM and BLK overclocking. For 24.7 I would not go over 1,2 on this setting ideally 1.15.

VTT2 does not help with overclocking at all but should be kept within 0.4v of VTT so as to ensure Intels spec is maintained.

VCCSA is the IMC volts and helps with DRAM overclocking and stability. VCCSA and VTT should be kept within 0.05v of each other as per Intels recommendations and aid stability. VCCSA should be kept below 1.2v

PLL is interesting on this foramt as what I have fund is on the 100 strap the CPU like around 1.9v and on the 125 strap they like around 1.65v. Experiment with this as getting it right means Vcore down for a certain frequency.

Now lets look at the power settings:



With the heat these CPU's generate on the VRM's and due to heat from the CPU soaking into the socket I never use more than high LLC and for 24/7 no more than medium. Intel design the CPU's with Vdroop in mind so I allow droop to keep temps down under load of both the chip and the VRM extending lifespan of both components at the same time. Also bear in mind VRM heat as well as CPU heat causing throttling on this format.

140 CPU current is enough for everyday. I use 180 for benching. CPU power frequency auto daily, 800 bench. Power Duty control is T.Probe daily and Xtreme for bench with the mos control volts been kept at 7 or lower so as not to create unnecessary heat.

VCCSA LLC is exactly as it says for the memory controller again I dont hammer this as I know high VCCSA will degrade my chip overtime. I want it to droop slightly under load. 120% current gets me 2520 DRAM tight so I dont use more.




I then raise the current and optimise power supply to the DIMMS for improved DRAM overclocking and stability. For bench I push this even further as on X79 memory is the main source of instability due to the complexity of quad channel RAM.



In DRAM settings for most the top four settings are all you need. Rampage tweak AUTO sets second and thirds as XMP. Mode 1 sets compatible second and third timings and can help with stability problems and reaching higher DRAM clocks at the expense of performance. Mode 2 sets Tight second and third timings during training and helps with both performance and overclocking at the expense of stability. More voltage is often needed with this one enabled but bandwidth goes through the roof.

Latency Boundary has further effect on the tertiary timings AUTO is as XMP or in line with Mode 1 and Mode 2. Setting nearer tightens the tertiary for performance while further slackens these timings for stability. A setting of further or furthest helps alot when clocking 32mb in 4 dimms (ie 4 x 8gb) or 8 x 4gb dimms.

When clocking X79 I do so on both straps but I and many others have noticed a BLK of around 129-131 on the 125 strap seems to yeild best results in terms of Vcore needed. This is because the higher BLK is creating less modulation in PLL and thus the CPU has less errors to correct and a "cleaner signal" High BLK along with low PLL is the way to go with most CPU.

With X79 being so complex I cant cover everything here but ask questions and I will cover what the end user feels is important to them.

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2013, 16:45   #2
cammy5477
Wise Guy
 
cammy5477's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 2,422
Cant wait to try these out later

Great guide and a great insight in to how its done

well done 8 Pack

ALIENWARE M18X
i7 2960xm||HyperX 1866mhz||
6990 XFIRE||120GB 840 PRO||2TB
cammy5477 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2013, 17:12   #3
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
No problem. Cant cover everything so anyone have any questions please ask.

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2013, 18:47   #4
pgi947
Capodecina
 
pgi947's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 15,794
The man's a genius!!

Look forward to translating some of this over to my msi board

No Advertising?
pgi947 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2013, 19:39   #5
Tonester0011
Soldato
 
Tonester0011's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 6,589
Now if only i had X79 to try this on
Going to keep my eyes out for some bargains and transfer over
Tonester0011 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2013, 21:16   #6
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
Go X79 mate you wont regret it.

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2013, 21:28   #7
pgi947
Capodecina
 
pgi947's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 15,794
As 8 Pack says, its loads of fun to clock with

Little X79 memory related Q for you, any truth in X79 actually running better while populated as tri-channel?

No Advertising?
pgi947 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2013, 21:46   #8
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
You can often get higher CPU clocks with Dual or Tri channel operation yes, but performance overall dips. Heat is lower on this config too as the IMC is not being worked as hard so creates less heat.

The only way to run X79 is quad channel to be efficient.

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2013, 22:33   #9
cammy5477
Wise Guy
 
cammy5477's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 2,422
Ok mate so I have been having a play and I think my ram is holding me back :-(

I have 16gb of blue dominator http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=8&subcat=1390

I have never got it to run at 1866mhz yet. What do you think? Will this stuff hold back a 5ghz clock.
would be looking at sammy greens or platinum dominators if I was going to change. What would you do?

ALIENWARE M18X
i7 2960xm||HyperX 1866mhz||
6990 XFIRE||120GB 840 PRO||2TB
cammy5477 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2013, 23:01   #10
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
The best config for overall CPU overclock is 8gb 4 x 2gb and at 1600mhz which is within Intel spec for the memory controller. Your RAM is above this so will theoretically be holding your Clock speed back.

But 5ghz at 1600mhz RAM is a very inefficient Overclock and systems with 4.8ghz clock speed and 2133mhz tuned RAM will perform better at less voltages and lower temps. The sweet spot for performance with RAM on X79 is 2133mhz.

For me overclocking is not all about clock speeds its about a well tuned overall system.

Samsung Greens and Dominator Plats are both good products. I have used both and they both work really well.

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2013, 08:59   #11
Rossi~
Capodecina
 
Rossi~'s Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Herts
Posts: 12,955
The ASUS Sabertooth X79 is quite annoying in regards to PLL. The minimum you can set is the default 1.8v...
Anyone know a way around this?

Rossi~ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2013, 10:00   #12
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
I have the P79X Pro here as my work PC and I noticed that mate.

I clocked it on the 125 strap and was not overly pleased I could not drop the PLL. Not sure why either. I am gonna ask ASUS for a bios with this adjustment included and see where that goes.

Above 1.8 does seem to work for me on the strap but literally all my CPU's have prefered less on the 125.

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2013, 13:48   #13
Mrnob
Gangster
 
Mrnob's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 297
Forget what i said.
Last edited by Mrnob; 9th Jan 2013 at 18:15.
Mrnob is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2013, 16:20   #14
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
Well I dont know what you said so how can I forget it!!!lol

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Jan 2013, 14:38   #15
Mrnob
Gangster
 
Mrnob's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 297
lol was just a daft question
Mrnob is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2013, 23:19   #16
kitkat9933
Mobster
 
kitkat9933's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,535
Thanks so much ( runs to RIG) just what I needed.

Any chance you could make a much more simplified guide for X79 for Overclocking Dummies? for a basic O/C e.t.c 4-> 4.5ghz?.

I got a 4.5ghz on my 3930k, but my VCore seems a little high, so a dummy guide would be lovely
kitkat9933 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2013, 12:16   #17
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
Vcore is often determind by CPU. Post your settings up and maybe I can help???

Try high BLK on 125 strap to bring down Vcore with low PLL.

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2013, 23:02   #18
kitkat9933
Mobster
 
kitkat9933's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Pack View Post
Vcore is often determind by CPU. Post your settings up and maybe I can help???

Try high BLK on 125 strap to bring down Vcore with low PLL.
When I said a basic guide, I meant like basic lol. Your still speaking in klingon to me.

I get as far as over 1,35 VCore is bad and that I increase the Multiplayer to as high as possible, while keeping temps and VCore within safe limits.
kitkat9933 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2013, 23:50   #19
smelly_legend
Wise Guy
 
smelly_legend's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: edinburgh
Posts: 1,669
Thankyou 8 Pack!

Spoiler:

System: Intel i7 3820 @ 4.6Ghz/1.32V; Asus Rampage Gene IV; 16gb Samsung Green @ 2.4Ghz/1.65V CL10; SG Barracuda 7200 1tb; OCZ Vertex 2 240gb; Noctua D-14; GTX 970; Corsair TX 650W V2 Twitch; Youtube; Steam; Friday Studio Mix: 7-10pm GMTTwitch
Last edited by smelly_legend; 18th Jan 2013 at 01:40.
smelly_legend is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jan 2013, 14:43   #20
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
Nice work mate.

Steady Clock that. Kitkat just post up what your not sure about and I will help ya.

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2013, 01:30   #21
kitkat9933
Mobster
 
kitkat9933's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Pack View Post
Nice work mate.

Steady Clock that. Kitkat just post up what your not sure about and I will help ya.
Pretty much everything. I am a complete novice overclocker.

I know simply, higher multiplyer= Better, Lower Vcore=better and lower temps =better.

I'm using 3930k with ASUS RIVE if that helps.

I want a stable-ish OC if that is possible.
kitkat9933 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2013, 09:43   #22
Gregster
Caporegime
 
Gregster's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Essex innit!
Posts: 33,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitkat9933 View Post
Pretty much everything. I am a complete novice overclocker.

I know simply, higher multiplyer= Better, Lower Vcore=better and lower temps =better.

I'm using 3930k with ASUS RIVE if that helps.

I want a stable-ish OC if that is possible.
What kind of cooling do you use? When overclocking an expensive chip like you have, it is better to do lots of research so as not to blow it. What works for one system will have a good chance of not working in another. Chips are different and some will require less thatn 1.5V for 5Ghz and others will require more.

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

Give that a read. Raja does a great job of explaining what each option for overclocking does. It helped me greatly understand what I was doing on the 2011 chip.

Last edited by Gregster; 19th Jan 2013 at 09:47.
Gregster is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2013, 15:52   #23
kitkat9933
Mobster
 
kitkat9933's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregster View Post
What kind of cooling do you use? When overclocking an expensive chip like you have, it is better to do lots of research so as not to blow it. What works for one system will have a good chance of not working in another. Chips are different and some will require less thatn 1.5V for 5Ghz and others will require more.

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

Give that a read. Raja does a great job of explaining what each option for overclocking does. It helped me greatly understand what I was doing on the 2011 chip.
Alright thanks looks good. Also I am using H100i.
kitkat9933 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2013, 16:13   #24
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
I tested a H100 against custom water only a week or so ago.

H100 should net you 4.6 stable with most chips.

Raja is a great guy and his guide an excellent starting point.

Any further questions post back

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Feb 2013, 10:00   #25
Rossi~
Capodecina
 
Rossi~'s Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Herts
Posts: 12,955
Dude.
Need a little help with my 3930K + H100i + Sabertooth X79 getting stable at 4.6Ghz properly.

First of all, i can bench at 4.6GHz and 2390MHz RAM, easy. But Prime fails very quickly. I think my CPU is just naff and i lost the lottery. 4.5Ghz is rock solid @ 1.38v set and 1.35v recorded underload and with 2333MHz RAM at good timings.

Here's what i bench at:

36 x 127.75
CPU Vcore: 1.4v
VCCSA: 1.15v
VTT: 1.15v
PLL: 1.8v
DRAM: 1.6v

LLC Medium
130% CPU Current
120% VCCSA Current
130% DRAM Current
All Phase Control @ Optimized

I've tried:
1.41v cpu - No difference, and starts to get toasty
1.2v VSSCA - No difference
1.2v VTT - No Difference
Lowering RAM overclock - No difference
PLL @ 1.85v - No difference

Any ideas where i should focus my efforts? Or should i just give up on the CPU? I was wondering about the Turbo Power settings.... These aren't mine but they show the max settings, i have them set to Auto. Is there anything like this on the RIVE? If so, what do you set them to?



In fact, I will get screenshots of my 24/7 4.5GHz settings for you and create a separate thread.

Last edited by Rossi~; 1st Feb 2013 at 10:35.
Rossi~ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 1st Feb 2013, 12:36   #26
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
Ok no problem. Best I see everything to get a full picture.

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2013, 13:59   #27
BaDBoY_uK
Mobster
 
BaDBoY_uK's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,754
Thanks 8pack. I currently have 3 x 680s and I do not feel that I am getting the best peformance. I will change the BLK and Mutl later and have a go

4960X @ 4.4 | Rampage IV Black | Full watercooling
2x EVGA Classified 980Ti | EVGA 780Ti Kingpin for PhysX
32GB Doms | 2x RAID0 500GB SSDs | 2x 3TB HDDs
1500W Corsair PSU | Predator X34 | ASUS PB278Q
BaDBoY_uK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Mar 2013, 18:03   #28
jkb
Wise Guy
 
jkb's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 1,174
Thanks 8 Pack, 4.5GHz straight away following this
jkb is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Mar 2013, 23:12   #29
8 Pack
OcUK Staff
 
8 Pack's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 6,810
Nice work!! Its easy when you know how!!! Now clock your RAM!!!

8 Pack is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Mar 2013, 11:03   #30
jkb
Wise Guy
 
jkb's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 1,174
Thanks, it's easy when you have a guide to follow :-) I tried an arbitrary 2000MHz when I was following your guide and that worked no problem. Haven't had time to try and optimise/maximise either RAM or CPU yet. I killed my x58 after 4 years as I think I was a bit overenthusiastic with the voltages in my quest for every last MHz, part of me says keep them as low as possible this time and part of me says I will be upgrading in 4 years anyway so get as much as I can out of it.
jkb is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:42.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)