Soldato
Thought I'd make a DevOps engineering thread to discuss any topics related to our field.

I will start off with a question, does any one know any good material to learn Crossplane?

The only thing I have found is a book.

Last edited:
Soldato
I recently applied for a DevOps Engineer role. I have over 12 years of experience as a software developer and thought it would be an interesting, relevant, but slightly different role. My application was turned down due to never actually holding the title 'DevOps Engineer'. However, I've managed the full stack of web development for 10+ years (coding practices, CI, releases, hosting, server management, etc.), but they simply ignored this and didn't give me a second look (they basically told me that when I asked).

Am I not really understanding what's truly involved in a DevOps Engineer role? Maybe I am underestimating what you guys do. No offence intended, I am genuinely interested in the role! :)

Soldato
OP
I recently applied for a DevOps Engineer role. I have over 12 years of experience as a software developer and thought it would be an interesting, relevant, but slightly different role. My application was turned down due to never actually holding the title 'DevOps Engineer'. However, I've managed the full stack of web development for 10+ years (coding practices, CI, releases, hosting, server management, etc.), but they simply ignored this and didn't give me a second look (they basically told me that when I asked).

Am I not really understanding what's truly involved in a DevOps Engineer role? Maybe I am underestimating what you guys do. No offence intended, I am genuinely interested in the role! :)

I wouldn't be too disheartened by being turned down by one company there are plenty of opportunities out there.