Ultitube Pressure Equalisation Membrane - Does it stop you pressure testing?

Associate
I posted this in the Aquacomputers English forum, but noticed the last few posts hadnt got any responses so thought I'd ask here too as I know others have these.

I'm finally getting round to building a loop that I started 2 years ago! I bought a "ULTITUBE D5 150 PRO reservoir with D5 NEXT pump" and have been playing around with some potential loop design.

As it's my first time doing this, I thought I'd stop and check the first line I put in, which goes from a radiator to the inlet on the Ultitube.

So I put a plug into the outlet of the ultitube and attached a pressure testing pump to the radiator and it failed completely. All I got was a weird hissing / puffing noise.

I started testing sections of the loop and eventually tried just the Ultitube by iteslf and found the same hissing / puffing noise. Then I remembered the pressure equalisation membrance in the lid of the reservior and now I'm wondering if that is the problem?

Will it stop me pressure testnig the loop? Is there a way around it?

Associate
OP
I found my answer usng the search tool on the aquacomputer forum! From another post there:

Thank you for contacting us! If your Ultitube came with a pre-installed D5 NEXT pump,
it must be the "PRO" version of the Ultitube. All PRO version
Ultitubes come with a pressure equalization membrane installed in the top lid
of the reservoir, so will not hold pressure by design.

If you want to pressure check your loop including the reservoir, you can try to
put some plastic foil between glass tube and lid of the reservoir or use this
lid without membrane: https://shop.aquacomputer.de/product_inf…roducts_id=3865

Associate
OP
This is good to know as I'll be building a loop with a Utilitube soon and would probably have had the same question when the time came!
It’s actually a proper pain in the arse I think. I tried with some cling film but unsurprisingly that didn’t work.