Career advice?

Soldato
I'm waiting for the abuse to role in on this one... Saying that, I'm pretty sure that considering the huge readership of these forums there will be a pretty strong chance that someone who reads this will be working in the various fields I'm looking into.

Basically, I'm currently doing a degree in Economics, and am in the process of applying to various internships etc...

I am however still unsure of which careers to apply to, so really was just wondering what people's own experiences are in the various fields I'm looking into going into.

However bad it is, I'd also be interested in information on possible salaries, careers/salary progression, competition in the market for the jobs, and what kind of experience would people recommend.

This is the 'small' list of possible careers I'm considering:
  • Finance
  • Accounting
  • Environmental Economics
  • Journalism
  • Something IT/technology based, possibly linked into the Journalism theme above, or maybe a buyer for one of the large Computer sales companies - to be honest, something like OCUK would be a great company xD

Frankly, I'm not even sure some of them even exist as careers! xD

Anyway, thanks for the advice :)

To all the doubters, no I'm not going to make my sole decision on this, but I figured it would be an idea to get a first hand idea of peoples experiences in the various fields.

kd

Soldato
My first hand experience of people in finance is that they have lots of money. I would therefore recommend that you choose that career path and work in the City of London. If you are clever, work hard and play hard, you will become very wealthy.

Man of Honour
accounting is what i would do if it didnt look so boring.

Accountancy can be boring but then so can most careers I'd imagine - possible exceptions being lion taming and wing walking, especially if you combine the two...