Gangster
Associate
Hello,

I am having some trouble trying to make my spreadsheet formulas work in an excel spreadsheet on dispatch times.
The idea was; i would have two sheets (Times (sheet1) & Data (sheet2))
Sheet 2 Data; would have lots of various destinations:
  • Column A - Location 1
  • Column B - Location 2
  • Column C - Time taken from Loc 1 to 2
Sheet 1 Times; would be the locations I would receive on my day to day work:
E.G. a driver is going from Crawley to York.

So what I am trying to do is use a combination of VLOOKUPS and MATCH formulas; so when I input the locations into sheet 1, the formula will look up the data from sheet 2, find that location 1 & 2 match from sheet 2s data and then show the time taken data from sheet 2 into sheet 1 in column C

I am no expert at excel, but have been trying this for a while with little success.
Any help is very much appreciated.
Any further questions, please ask.

P.S. I am unable to upload the spreadsheet because I do not know how.

Associate
What you really need is a match index. It's a little difficult to explain without the real data, but if you google it I'm sure you will find the answer. The key is to use an array enter (CTRL SHFT ENTER), not just hit enter after typing a formula.

Associate
knocked a quick example up, image uploaded. The trick really is to remember to do the ctrl shift enter (which will add the curly brackets). Probably a dozen ways of doing the same trick - the microsoft link uses if statements, both methods work fine.

Gangster
Associate
OP
Hi Death,

Thank you very much for the help! This is defiantly pointing me in the right direction.
So I have made a mock up SS and entered the following:

=Index(Sheet2!$A$2:$C$2,Match(1,Sheet2!$A$2:$A$7=Sheet1!A2)*(Sheet2!$B$2:$B$7=Sheet1!B2),0),3)

BPWjW.png

The error highlights ",3)" when I press Ctrl Shift and enter on the formula.

Any ideas?

Soldato