Probably going to upset some people. I don't get the intense love for Steak.

Soldato
Problem is there are far too many badly cooked poor cuts of meat flying around.
And terrible quality. I walked past a big billboard for Tesco advertising it's "21 day aged steak" :rolleyes: I mean that doesn't even really mean anything does it? 21 days is barely aged, I wouldn't even call a steak aged unless it's >28 days.

Soldato
The way some talk about it it's as if eating is akin to pure unadulterated bliss. Heaven on a plate.
The only thing worse is the people who berate you for not liking it the way they do, or insist there's only one way to have a steak. The "rare or medium-rare" thing is just a poor excuse for being an incompetent cook, I find - I like to make them cry when I order mine medium-well, as their tears make excellent jus!

It's all just steak and really comes down to how it's cooked. Mostly it sucks, as the red inner texture just tastes like cold, raw meat.
Only once have I had a steak that was better than pork chops - I'd done it myself, on a barbecue, well seasoned with Robertsons sprinkles, medium-well, slightly crispy outside. Best steak ever.
If you have to be lectured on how you should have your food, then the food isn't that special to begin with.

Soldato
If you're going to correct him at least use the correct name for it. It's myoglobin, not "meat juice".

The quality of the meat makes an enormous difference to the taste and texture. Dry aging helps to enhance the flavour too, so it's worth looking for steak with more marbling and aged for at least 30 days (the longer the better up to about 90 days).
Oh wow. Yeah, no. It is meat juice. Myoglobin is what makes it red...

Soldato