Which ultrawide 100Hz+ Gsync?

Soldato
I have been running a 60Hz 3440x1440 for a few years and recently went for a Predator X34 for Gsync and higher refresh. I am very impressed by the experience but will be sending the monitor back as there is some pretty bad backlight bleed on it.

Not sure whether to risk another one or go for something else. The Omen X35 is tempting me at the moment as it uses a VA panel and I do love my blacks.

Soldato
VA is better for blacks, IPS is not and almost every panel out there suffers from BLB. You probably will be better off with the Omen X35. You may be giving up a bit of colour vibrancy, although I doubt you'll notice that much. You might want to check some reviews on this, and also to find out how this monitor fairs when it comes to overshoot and blur which VA can be susceptable to.

Soldato
OP
Aye, not sure on the VA because of the ghosting and the VA units don't have the same zero bezel designs as the IPS displays.

Going to probably get another X34 I think, maybe plulp for the x34p...

I have also had a good look at the Alienware which is also 120Hz

Soldato
Aye, not sure on the VA because of the ghosting and the VA units don't have the same zero bezel designs as the IPS displays.

Going to probably get another X34 I think, maybe plulp for the x34p...

I have also had a good look at the Alienware which is also 120Hz

Well don't be so quick to write off VA. I just switched from the X34 to the LG 32GK850G (which is VA) and I have been very happy with it. I am getting no ghosting or smearing, the blacks are WAYYY better and I have zero bleed... the latter of which you will get on any IPS panel and can be really annoying in dark scenes with games or movies when in a dark or dimly lit room. The VA panel on the LG is, by all accounts, one of the best out there, and even in Photoshop I am happy with its colour accuracy after a little calibration.

Associate