development laptop - setup suggestions + training

Soldato
Hi all,

New 480gb SSD for my laptop, 3 uses, general use, infosec training and development training.

My experience is TSQL, ok Python and some basic web stuff but I like to tinker and pop into various different languages/environments depending on what I want to do.

Any software you would suggest? I'm just starting out learning and have no experience of GIT etc.

I'm thinking WAMP, FTP software, ATOM/Notepad++/sublime for basic web stuff.

Python/IDE

Visual Studio IDE or Visual Code

Obviously, I'm not being very specific but is there anything you use that you feel others would benefit from and for what type of development?

Code version control, documenting, testing etc?

EDIT: Windows 10 laptop

Last edited:
Soldato
Sublime Text and appropriate plugins will cover most of the above.

I prefer the cli for git but Sublime has good plugins for git.

Is this a Windows/Linux/macOS laptop?

Soldato
OP
Sublime Text and appropriate plugins will cover most of the above.

I prefer the cli for git but Sublime has good plugins for git.

Is this a Windows/Linux/macOS laptop?

I know Atom has a massive amount of plugins but I've rarely used sublime so wasn't too sure but heard great things about it.

Windows 10 laptop, should have stated that in the original post

Soldato
I prefer macOS but depending not the client I need to work on different OS's, Sublime Text makes this easier as it's cross platform.

Sublime have also released Sublime Merge a Git client, I've not tried it yet but it looks very good.

As for learning git, have a look at the excellent book Pro Git.

Man of Honour
I'm a bit addicted to the Jetbrains IDE's at the moment. So a present I bought myself last year was an All Products pack which gives me access to every one of their IDE's (it's an annual subscription but if you cancel then you still keep a license to use the version released when you were - in other words you get it forever).