Want to build my own, but unsure on parts needed

Associate
Hi,

I'm new to building my own PC, but have always been a bit of a PC gamer. However i am tired of trying to get games to run on my laptop! So want to have a go at making a decent gaming PC.

I understand the basics, but struggle with configuring certain components against each other. Also since the introduction of multi core CPU's I sometimes struggle to understand which are the most powerful.

Anyway there is a specific game I am trying to play on my current machine which is struggling. So my minimum benchmark would be something capable of this game. The game requirements are this:

• Processor: Intel Core i5-4430 3.0GHz / AMD FX-8300
  • Graphics: AMD Radeon R9 270X or NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
  • System Memory: 8 GB RAM
  • Storage: 4 GB Hard drive space
I understand what those components are, but can anyone recommend a motherboard to connect them all to?
Also, in gaming terms, are they fairly basic components? Would I need something much better to make it reasonably future proof?

In addition to this, I also like to play retro games through Dosbox. I have those old games on floppy discs, which I currently use through a USB Floppy Drive. I would like an internal floppy on my new machine. Do they still make motherboards with built in Floppy support?

Soldato
I'd suggest that the best place to start is by giving us a budget - then it's a case of identifying which components you already have (if any) so we can work that into your budget!

For example, if you are starting completely from new you are going to need a keyboard, mouse, monitor and operating system, so it's not just a case of putting together the physical parts in the machine itself!

Associate
OP
I'd suggest that the best place to start is by giving us a budget - then it's a case of identifying which components you already have (if any) so we can work that into your budget!