Mid 2011 iMac upgrades....or don't bother?

Soldato
I have inherited a mid 2011 iMac 21.5inch, 500gb HD, 2.5ghz intel core i5 with 4gb memory.

Ive been using MacBooks and iPads for a few years and have essentially only taken this because Im having to work from home for the foreseeable as Im sure many of us are. Thing is i REALLY like it! Ok, its pretty dated but it actually still does most of what I would ever want a desktop to do albeit its a little slow.

Running along side this I am just finishing a house renovation where I will have a dedicated office space that at some point I would maybe consider putting a new iMac into, but spending that sort of cash isn't a top priority right now.

So here is my question. What could I do to the iMac that would make any significant performance differences and how much would it cost? Obvious thing is the memory, how much would that cost me? (link if possible). I don't want to spend money thats just dead but if I can make it a bit better then I will because as I say its doing 99% of what I want it to already just a bit slow. Maybe its not viable to do anything, if so, fair enough.

These machines really do have a remarkable shelf life.

Last edited:
Commissario
My 2011 iMac had a firewire port. I would say that the upgrade which will give you the biggest performance difference is to grab a firewire caddy and an SSD and use that instead of the internal mechanical HDD. It'll be like night and day.

Commissario
Doing both will help but you'll notice much more of a difference with the SSD. Memory is easy to do on those, it's just behind a door. If you do the memory by itself, depending on how heavily you use the machine, you'll benefit from it not swapping out to the technical HDD.

Personally, I'd go for the SSD first and see what a difference it makes. I don't think you'll notice much difference with the memory.

Soldato
OP