When does borrowing more make sense?

Soldato
This thread shows just why house prices are so high. The free issuing of vast amounts of cash by banks against mortgages.

It also shows why there are so many brand new cars on the road. Big purchases all funded by remortgaging debt in perpetuity.

Unfortunately the whole system is configured to make people borrow as much as possible and buy as many luxury goods as possible with barely any consequences, at least not short term.

Soldato
Why not use the 0% card to pay for the driveway? Without knowing your income it's hard to say, £1100 isn't an excessively high balance in most cases. I've been transferring a balance for over 10 years on 0% offers, something i'm not particularly proud of but it's affordable and well managed.

Just make sure there is sufficient credit remaining on the card leading up to your next application (50%+ ideally) and make sure you never miss any bills or do anything else disastrous to hurt your credit rating.

Soldato
This thread shows just why house prices are so high. The free issuing of vast amounts of cash by banks against mortgages.

It also shows why there are so many brand new cars on the road. Big purchases all funded by remortgaging debt in perpetuity.

Unfortunately the whole system is configured to make people borrow as much as possible and buy as many luxury goods as possible with barely any consequences, at least not short term.

Yup, it's clever.

Keeps the poor people poor and to greedy capitalists rich with the illusion of wealth.

People automatically assume the guy driving the brand new BMW has more money than the person driving a 10 year old Fiesta, well that isn't always the case.

Soldato
If you're borrowing more against your property to essentially lower your monthly debt outgoings then you really should be making overpayments (with the difference saved) or at least saving the capital so that you can remortgage with a lower LTV as and when.