• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Current Temps - Problem?

Associate
Am running a 3900x (on Asus X570-E) which I have been running for about 3 months.

To begin with it was a shock moving from a 5820k (overclocked to 4.6) simply because the operating temperatures were so much higher on the 3900.

However having read up a bit I realised that this was to be expected given the number of cores etc.

Did consider that I might get better performance and/or better temps if I were to either run an overclock and/or a power plan but in the end decided that such did seem a bit pointless as long as the heat did not get too much.(overall I believe that looking to overclock would not give me much , if any, improvement in performance)

Running the pc today I noted that the temps have risen substantially - idle /tick over about 37 to 40c with it topping out when gaming at 72c.

Even though I would prefer them lower I do not believe that these temps are in any way a 'problem' - thoughts appreciated. (and if anyone considers that there is anything to be done please advise!)

Am running a cusom loop cooling both cpu and gpu.

Lastly just to mention that per the Asus website there is a new bios for my board which refers to a new
Update AMD AM4 AGESA PI 1.0.0.1 which I believe is a good thing which I will install tomorrow.

Soldato
Is that stock? I'm running mine at 4425Mhz all core, I can only mention idles at high 30's to mid 40's. Load in realbench/cinebench is high 70's, cannot give a game load, nothing utlises my CPU much, I'll play odyssey at some point as I do not have a game which pushes it.

Caporegime