Gaming PC- No idea where to start

Associate
Hi

It's my boyfriends 30th birthday this year and I really want to get him a really good gaming pc.
I have no idea where to start. I have no idea what to look for and I'm hoping someone would like to help.

Is there certain thinks I need to look for/understand? What brands are best?

He currently has a cyperpower pc he had customised around 7 years ago so really I want an upgraded version that will play pretty much any game.

I'm not overly bothered on the price but no more than £2000.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance

Associate
I jsut am building something with that exact same price point.

My basket at Overclockers UK:

Associate
OP
I'm so sorry but I have no idea what any of that means haha. I've got no knowledge when it comes to the make up of a PC.

I am ideally looking for one that is pre built as I wouldn't know where to start and I'm not sure how confident he would be building one up himself.

Thank you though

Associate
Hah I see! Well firstly you are a fabulous girlfriend for organising such an amazing present. I have to hide these purchases from my wife.... not in a million years would she buy one!

I think you have two options:

1) A pre-built machine which covers your needs (Like this one - https://www.overclockers.co.uk/ocuk...n-zen-3-5600x-gaming-pc-fs-122-og.html#t=e(h)

2) Buy the individual parts and wrap them/give them and he can build.

There are a few decent pre-builds at overclockers for that price range just ask here as you can add/remove options.

Do you know what games he plays?

Associate
OP
Thank you.

I have checked his steam wishlist and he wants to play cyperpunk2077, Stellaris and Battletech.
He has also been playing tropico 6, mad max and I know he likes age of empires too.

I appreciate your advice. Thank you

Associate