Arduino

Soldato
I've worked with Microchips PIC microcontrollers before for electronics projects. I'm currently working on a project which will allow me to turn my Xbox on and off using the remote which involves a PIC and an IR receiver wired to the standby power supply of the Xbox.

The Arduino is based on the Atmel AVR series of microcontrollers which are similar to PICs. The Arduino is a kit that contains the programming circuit and other components to make it easier to use, it is also easier to program if your just starting out. I have some basic electronics knowledge but you don't need a degree to use this stuff, just an interest. If you want to get into it then start with a small kit and then work from there by modifying it to do somethign else. The best way to learn is to just play with with it.

Associate
It seems the ardunio is a microcontroller within a 'test harness'. You could probably get similar by buying a pic/avr and building your own for much less money.

Otherwise, I have only heard good reports about them from people who have used them.

Soldato
OP
I am curios, just because I have one sitting here, and its great took a workshop this past weekend for beginners and its so, so easy to develop for compaired with another chip i've worked with. Its not lego mindstorms but its open source and cheap! I love it just wondered what others had done as I am looking for inspiration for a project.

Soldato
Holy thread necromancy! Was going to start a thread for Arduino users to show off projects and tips as I am building some cool things at the moment which I can't talk about yet and one that I can; an Arduino LED clock based on a design I found on instructables.com

http://www.instructables.com/id/Pong-Word-Clock/

Creators blog

http://123led.wordpress.com/about/

Got parts on order but I think some of the bits will be a couple of weeks from Hong Kong/China

Anyone doing anything interesting with Arduino?

Soldato
Parts on order