Losing weight the right way?

Caporegime
fella, read the stickys at the top of the forum. think about going running while throwing some decent weights sessions in each week

then, get your diet sorter, this is VERY important.

then, learn to sleep properly.

Soldato
wrong. hard to achieve, but it is possible.

Only if you're a total beginner, and even then, it won't last long.

Losing weight the right way is simple, literally these are the only things to remember:
1) Eat 4 or 5 meals a day
2) Breakfast: Porridge
Other 3 or 4 combine 1 protein, 1 carb and veg:
Chicken (1 breast), fish (Tuna 1 can)
veg, salad
potato, brown rice, wholemeal pasta (100g of any)
3) Drink water, no milk, no juice, no fizzy drinks

Don't even need to exercise at first, just eat clean.

Soldato
exercise exercise exercise

only thing that really works (for me anyway)

4 runs in the gym a week (of 30 minutes, starting at 2km now about 5km) plus 20 mins of weight = about a stone lost in 6 weeks

for me exercise is first, then diet - adjusts how quickly the weight comes off

Associate
everyone knows what you mean by "toning" so why is it somehow a dirty word. give him advice by all means, but telling him there is no such thing is just pointless

Soldato
Do they? Becuase many people still believe that doing 30 reps of a light weight is going to "tone" their muscles whereas the evil heavy weights will turn you into a bodybuilder type.

My advice is to read the sticky by GordyR.

Associate
He told you his goal to be toned, and I think you do know exactly what he meant, as we all do. He wanted advice on what to do to reach that goal which is likely to involve some degree of resistance training. Advising the sticky is fine, but snide comments about toning and machismo about weights is just the sort of thing that puts people off venturing into the free weights section of their gym and leaves them doing the steady state cardio and a little bit of some weights machine so never reaching their goals.