10850k won’t overclock. Temps too high D15

Associate
So I make this short and sweet. I have an MSI z490 Tomohawk, D15 air cooler, 32gb Corsair 3600 ram, 10850k all wrapped up in the lovely Meshify S2.

I am new to overclocking but my temp in prime95, no atx, on stock 4.8 are 98c. I tried realbench and got 85-90c after 15 minutes.

Overclock: 5ghz
LLC set at 2
Voltage 1.25-1.35 volt. Prime95 (no atx) just maxed temps INSTANTLY and system would hang.

realbech would run but at 5ghz on auto voltage temps hit 100c instantly. I haven’t tried 4.9 with lower voltage because I don’t see any point in 4.9 all core to a 4.8 all core stock.

I did turn turbo from auto to disabled after stock benchmark and it made little difference. Tried fixing cpu ratio and this didn’t help either. I think I got a chip that was straight up garbage to begin with. I will try new paste, noctuas best offer, just to check I seated it right. Not really sure what else I can do as the voltage offsets and LLC settings are a bit beyond my ability. I don’t want to fry the cpu and this OC attempt was more for fun.

Stock my voltage under load is 1.26-1.28v either these chips cannot do air or this was just a lottery fail!

Anyone use the msi z490 tomohawk? Any tips? Got my amd 8350 to 4.5ghz stable on prime for 8 hours. That lasted me till now and this chip kicks ass out of my last rig! Those red 100c numbers in HWM have made me nervous but just wondered if I have missed something.

Down bolted to booted at 1.25 volt so that was my base test using Intel XTU. I am new to this again so go easy on me!

have you definitely removed the clear sticker that comes on the base of the heatsink when installing, on my sons he has the dark rock pro 4 pro at 5Ghz all core never exceeds 80 degrees on his 10850K

The Noctua D15 comes with a plastic cover much like a cpu box.

Temps on cores range from 69c to 75c. Core 8 runs cool. All others are 71-75c and one core hits 78 on stock Intel XTU.