2001 Honda Insight Mk1 - The OG hybrid now joined by a CRZ

Soldato
After the demise of my Teg

teg1.jpg

I decided I wanted another rare focused Honda car.

Can you guess what it is?

Soldato
OP
You just CANT be a car person, which your previous car purchase would suggest. Drexel downsized, and got a cheap Golf GTI. Downsizing does not mean you have to sell your motoring soul.

I test drove one and liked it. Go me.

It will do 100MPG on petrol. Its rare. It has zero tax. The muppet in the SLK has dented my insurance significantly. Its a tool for my job. Im a qualified aerospace engineer - this interests me as it wasn't styled with a pencil. Im working on hybrid vehicles at work - this interests me with its tech. Its pretty much depreciation free.

Do the math on 75MPG compared to 34.

My Integra was too capable for commuting, so far I missing a lot more road noise and a bigger .hole in my wallet for 450miles a week.

I love how no one says nice thing when you have a good car but this gets 100x more comments in an afternoon :D

Soldato
OP
If anyone is interested in a bit more whats under the ugly shell...

http://www.insightcentral.net/encyclopedia/index.html

Battery is a 6.5Ah unit but with a window of only 4Ah to avoid over discharge and over charge on the NiMH unit so a lot are around 85% of new capacity. This one has had the packs rebalanced so each cell is recharged as the charging of a large old pack like this is based on path of least resistance rather than least state of charge.

Just need to work out lean burn better and you can sit at 25:1 AFR pulling 100+ MPG.

838kg and a Cd of 0.25 with a flat floor body. :cool: