3d printer for small components?

Associate
Hi everyone... Im completely new here, and to 3d printing, and I am confused with the varying types of printers available

I need to print some small components for a project that I am working on (between 7 to 12mm)

They are for a prototype that will ultimately be made from a metallic material, but for R&D purposes the overall strength is not as important as the functionality that I am trying to establish.

My understanding that a resin printer would be more appropriate, but I plan to use it indoors and the fumes from it are something I would have to consider?

I feel the FFF / FDM printer is probably more to what I would want, but will it print small component size in a good quality? Could anyone advise based on the above, what printer I should be considering?

So far, and considering I am a complete newbie, I am drawn to the Prusa Mini Plus, but I really don’t know if this is the right one. and really, I would be spending more than I would like. The other is the Ender 3 https://www.amazon.co.uk/Comgrow-Cr...mzn1.fos.d7e5a2de-8759-4da3-993c-d11b6e3d217f

This is more to what I would like to spend. But maybe someone could tell me that I would be better off with something different?

To note, the printer once I’ve used it for this project will more than likely sit without any regular use for long periods

Any advice very much appreciated

Many thanks legepe

Soldato
you'll have a hard time getting dimensional accuracy with any FDM printer but doubly so with an ender 3.
Also at that scale you're going to have problems.
just get a SLA printer like a cheap Anycubic Photon Mono and crack a window.
as long as you're not sleeping in the same room you won't have issues. I would recommend not leaving the resin in the vat for days between prints.

Associate
OP
you'll have a hard time getting dimensional accuracy with any FDM printer but doubly so with an ender 3.
Also at that scale you're going to have problems.