1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

4870X2 DVI Socket broken, advice please

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by eddie86, 22 Apr 2010.

  1. eddie86

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2009

    Posts: 302

    Here's the story,

    Swapped the DVI cable from my old PC to the 4870X2 in my newer one, powered up and no display....

    The DVI socket on the card always was a bit chewed up (after buying 2nd hand) and when I removed the cable one of the contacts had snapped off.

    It is the contact that the arrow is pointing to in the picture below...

    [​IMG]

    Because the top contact has broken off, the corresponding flat pin on the cable doesn't touch the both the top and bottom contacts.

    I tried plugging the cable into the second socket but that didn't provide a display either.

    I have basically wrapped a few strands of copper wire up in aluminium foil, shoved in as a buffer to provide the connection and I am now getting a display...

    Here are my questions:

    Was that a stupid thing to do? :p

    Or sensibly phrased, will what I have done have any detrimental effects on the card and/or connector?

    What are your suggestions for solving the problem in a more elegant manner?

    Is the left-hand (closest to motherboard) DVI socket the primary connector or can I use the other connector from now on, bearing in mind nothing happened when I was plugged into that one earlier?

    Thanks muchly


    Ed
     
  2. jorzeh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Jun 2009

    Posts: 1,431

    Location: Stockport

    I would personally dismantal the cooler off the card and buy a soildering iron and a new DVI socket and fit a new one, Don't forget solder sucker and flux. EZ PZ
     
  3. uv

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 May 2006

    Posts: 8,435

    Location: Manchester

    You can use either of the two DVI ports, so if you've only 1 monitor you've no problems :)
     
  4. eddie86

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2009

    Posts: 302

    Is it just plug and play?

    I assumed that's what I could do but I got no display when I did that initially...?

    I'll try the other port again in a minute, if it doesn't work I hope I can get my bodge job working again!
     
  5. PaulyD

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Mar 2008

    Posts: 4,636

    Location: High Wycombe

    Should work fine on either of the DVI ports, I certainly don't look at which port I'm plugging my cable into anyway!
     
  6. uv

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 May 2006

    Posts: 8,435

    Location: Manchester

    Indeed, either should work fine - the card auto detects which DVI port the monitor is plugged into :)
     
  7. eddie86

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2009

    Posts: 302

    Ok, well panic over I guess.

    I'm plugged into the other DVI socket, which looks like it's never been used and everything is ok....

    Weird that absolutely nothing happened when I did that before! It got me really worried!

    I'll just stick to using the second socket from now on.

    Thanks all