5800x Newbie Undervolt Help

Soldato
Hi all.

Wow its been many years since I last posted here, wonder if anyone remembers me! :)

I've recently made my way back to PC gaming, and love it.

So I've got a 5800x at stock using PBO it ran 4.7ghz 80c in game (max) and 90c Cinebench. I downloaded the Ryzen Master app and tested it out and undervolted got it to 1.27v @4600ghz. Cinebench runs solid at 80c and games at 60c (a drop of 20c).

So now I believe its best to translate this into overclocking in the bios? My question is what exactly do I have to do? I'm new to overclocking and there's too many options I don't understand to just try things out and see what works. The motherboard is a MSI B550 Tomahawk, with a Black Rock 4 Pro Cooler.

Would really appreciate is someone would tell me what options to change within the bios. It dosnt have to be exactly like for like as the Ryzen Master overclock, I believe an offset negative voltage is preferable?

Last edited:
Associate
Just did this myself, if you just want it to run cooler and at similar speeds to stock, the only thing you need to change are the PBO values. In the BIOS - enable AMD Overclocking, then go Settings\Advanced\AMD Overclocking:

PBO Limits - Manual
PPT Limit - 116
TDC Limit - 78
EDC Limit - 115

I slapped these values on and they work fine, dropped ~20c to 60-70c during load and 80c max in Prime95 instead of 90c. I'll tweak it more in the future when I have the patience and any need to. If you Google round there's plenty of threads with people sharing their values. Basically anything in the ballpark of above drastically lowers the voltage from the absurd overdrive AMD feeds the chip by default, resulting in much lower maximum temps.

Soldato
OP
Just did this myself, if you just want it to run cooler and at similar speeds to stock, the only thing you need to change are the PBO values. In the BIOS - enable AMD Overclocking, then go Settings\Advanced\AMD Overclocking:

PBO Limits - Manual
PPT Limit - 116